1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

16 bit windows subsystem error

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by conan6972, Oct 18, 2004.

  1. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    reverest:
    No problems, glad you got it working


    vincentd:
    Where is this problem located...


    Have you tried what i said before... If you cant see it:

    CJC
     
  2. vincentd

    vincentd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Friend, I tried everything you've told me with no luck. The autoexec.nt file is still disappearing everytime I turn on again my pc....I desperatly need HELP A.S.A.P
     
  3. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If that didnt work try

    CJC
     
  4. vincentd

    vincentd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dear CJC, I've tried what you've told me, but still, the file in question is disappearing everytime I switch on the pc, so everytime I have to go to the repair file, copy the file and paste it to system32 file. This is crazy everytime...is there anything more that I can try please....regards from Malta.
     
  5. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well if u have tried every single thing, i dont know.

    Might have to give Microsoft a Call or Email and ask them, but they will tell you the same things i have said, but they might know something else.

    CJC
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,273
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    143
    could try reloading windows on top of self & if still a problem reload from scratch
     
  7. TSK

    TSK Guest

    hey guys i just read this form . . . i am having the same problem but i deleted the file :S . . . . ne idea wat i should do now (i am trying to install half-life)
     
  8. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    TSK:

    CJC
     
  9. S&L

    S&L Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    CJC, Will the step by step intructions listed above, or anything else above that for that matter, work on 2000pro? If not, do you have any suggestions?
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2004
  10. mtl

    mtl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having the same problem, but only with certain email attachments that I believe are encrypted. I keep getting this message. Every other attachment I get is fine. I am desperately needing help as this is work related. I have no CD to do anything with as, like I said, this is coming via e-mail as an attachment. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  11. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    S&L - im not sure if it will work with Windows 2000, but im sure it will.
    No harm in trying... Just put your windows 2000 CD and try.

    mtl - If you PM me your email address, ill send you the 3 required files you need to try and fix this problem.

    CJC
     
  12. mtl

    mtl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    CJC~thanks. What do you mean by PM you?
     
  13. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    PM= Private Message

    Click on the icon that looks like [​IMG]

    CJC
     
  14. vincentd

    vincentd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello everyone, I still tried everything, but my autoexec.nt file is keeping on disappearing everytime I switch on my pc. Someone told me to look for the file windupdate.exe(note not winupdate but windupdate)cause this file is deleting the file everytime I switch on my pc, but I cannot find this file anywhere, I STILL NEED HELP PLEASE ANYONE KNOWS HOW TO FIX THIS. I DO NOT WISH TO REFORMAT MY PC CAUSE I'M A PROFESSIONAL TV PRESENTER IN MALTA, AND I HAVE LOTS, AND LOTS OF IMPORTANT PROGRAMES ON MY PC.
     
  15. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, try running these programs:

    Adaware SE Personal - http://www.download.com/Ad-Aware-SE-Personal-Edition/3000-8022_4-10319876.html?tag=lst-0-2

    Spybot - Search and Destroy - http://www.download.com/Spybot-Search-Destroy/3000-8022_4-10289035.html?tag=lst-0-2

    One you have updated them (in the program itself) and run then, selecting and fixing everything it finds...

    Go to http://housecall.trendmicro.com and scan your Hard Drive for viruses.

    Once that one is done, try running http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/indexie.php

    Once that is done, Try expand D:\i386 etc.... for the 3 files, then if that still doesnt work

    download

    HiJack This -
    http://www.download.com/HijackThis/3000-8022_4-10307556.html?tag=lst-0-1

    And paste the log.

    CJC
     
  16. vincentd

    vincentd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    CJC THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.
    Please note that only after I've downloaded the AD-AWARE SE PERSONAL the problem got resolved after I've scanned my pc, now the autoexec.nt file is staying in system 32 as it should be. Thank you my friend. Thank you. Please see my web page to know who I am, it is http://www.prosceniumrecordsmalta.4t.com and select vincent d. profile, that's me not the person who appears on the front page. Well thanks again my friend, you saved my pc from a lot of trouble...REGARDS FROM MALTA.
     
  17. steviejp

    steviejp Guest

    I had same problem - drove me mad - tried loads of fixes without joy.
    Found this on net.

    Click on this link and scroll to find posting from bbeard67 dated August 04. There is a link on this posting which is a download - run after download - automatically fixes problem ! Problem solved at last !

    http://www.softwaretipsandtricks.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=14322

    Good Luck !
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 14, 2004
  18. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Glad everything is working for you vincentd

    CJC
     
  19. jdiggity

    jdiggity Guest

    yall are so awesome. i had all but given up and then luckily i found this web site and it worked! microsoft wanted to charge me 100.00 to fix my problem and instead i got it fixed free thank yall so much
     
  20. vincentd

    vincentd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I need help again...My norton anti virus is telling me that I have a virus in my pc but can't remove it. With this virus I can't open my control panel, can someone tell me what to do please.
     

Share This Page