1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2 XP OS on one PC-different drives

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by tgunn2760, Jun 8, 2014.

  1. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    got to rub it in on somebody so why not you.
     
  2. ChappyTTV

    ChappyTTV Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Damn...that's frigid dude
    :(

    Kidding aside, my entire street flooded all the way up to my front door today. We had a small-ish sinkhole open up on our street last week and with the (quote the weather gal) torrential rains from 9am to about 3pm, it got really bad. The sinkhole expanded and took out the storm sewer line so we were basically farked at that time. We even had to build a temp dam at one neighbours place so it would't flood so fast. I'm pooped but fortunately my place stayed dry inside. The creek behind me swelled 10X and over flowed the banks...what a day my friend...what a day.
    Then I come here and get it from you guys...aaarghhhh!
    lol

    Later
    Dave
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    are you in western canada like in manitoba or saskatchewan?
     
  4. ChappyTTV

    ChappyTTV Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Regina Saskatchewan. I think I asked you before, you're out east aren't you?
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    thought you were out there because of all the rain they got. yes in ontario, a small town along lake simcoe called lefroy.
     
  6. ChappyTTV

    ChappyTTV Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Beautiful area, I'm jealous. I used to spend allot of time out there as a kid, my grandparents lived in Grimsby so I traveled many times on the 400, right past Lefroy. They also had a cottage out there but damned if I can remember where exactly. I just remember how awesome it was to spend a summer there.
    Man, bedtime already, later ddp!
     
  7. tgunn2760

    tgunn2760 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes, I knew this, thanks for your reply anyway.
     
  8. ChappyTTV

    ChappyTTV Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey, we gotta make sure...no prob. :D
    How did the rest of it work out? Were you able to install the chipset driver on the correct OS version?
     
  9. tgunn2760

    tgunn2760 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yup, just installed the chipset and am now online with XP Home, thanks to everyone who helped.

    Now, I need help to get my sound card working with XP home.
    Can the sound card work with both OSs?
     
  10. ChappyTTV

    ChappyTTV Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Definitely, it should be as simple as installing the correct driver while you're booted into the OS version you want it installed to. Think of things as if they were 2 separate machines installed into one chassis and you're asked at the startup which machine you want to boot into.
    If there are XP drivers for this card, then you can install it easily. Also, in almost ALL cases, a driver that works on Pro will also work on Home and vice-versa. The base workings of the OS's are identical, it's just that Pro offers more features, just like a base model car to one with AC, power windows & doors, nicer wheels, etc.
     
  11. tgunn2760

    tgunn2760 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes, the sound card is installed on Pro, where do I find them?
     
  12. ChappyTTV

    ChappyTTV Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you still have the driver installer you used, boot into the Home install, then navigate to where that installer is stored and just run it from there. No matter where it's stored, even in the other OS version's folder, it will install into the OS you're booted into. Anything you install from the version you're booted in, will install in that version.
    If you don't have the installer .exe anymore, just go to the card's support on the card makers site and d'load it again.
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what does it show under sound, video & game controllers in device manager in home & pro?
     
  14. tgunn2760

    tgunn2760 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I will have to check Home, Pro has lots of stuff under sound, video and game controllers, 9 items
     
  15. tgunn2760

    tgunn2760 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think Realtek is the driver, where do I find it? Do I need to download it? It is already installed on XP Pro
     
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
  17. tgunn2760

    tgunn2760 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    it is Realtek AC '97 audio and audio codecs and Legacy audio drivers?
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    select ac'97 audio codecs(software). enter. put the checkmark in the box & click on next. click on A4.06 sixth row down & select nearest download site to you.
     
  19. tgunn2760

    tgunn2760 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Done, thanks. What next, execute it when I log into XP Home?
    Will that enable sound card etc, and will that have any impact on the souncard being also connected to XP Pro
    on another drive on same PC?
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    yes on home & no on pro.
     

Share This Page