1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2 XP OS on one PC-different drives

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by tgunn2760, Jun 8, 2014.

  1. tgunn2760

    tgunn2760 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    OK, thanks.
     
  2. tgunn2760

    tgunn2760 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Worked, thanks to everyone who helped.
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn.
     
  4. Theo56

    Theo56 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This may come to you late but here goes. I have several 500 gig hard drive formatted with several different O/S installed; windows XP Pro 32 bit Sp 3, XP Pro 64 bit Sp 2, and Win 7. All will operate using the same utilities that come with your Motherboard. I think the Win 7 is also 64 bit. I have 10 partitions on each of the 500 gig with a different security system on each of the partitions. With this setup I can insert another computers HDD into a removable slot (installed in the computer case) and then use the security on each partition to check for infections. All I need to do is reboot and select which partition/security system I want to use.

    This may help you resolve the problem you are having, if any. If you need to contact me, edited by ddp
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 5, 2014
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Theo56, no email posting as per forum rules, post edited. i can do that using just 1 os to scan another without using multiple os's as i do that all the time except for win8\8.1 as haven had to scan them yet.
     
  6. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    48
    ooo.. anybody smell that?>.. 5 partitions per physical device max

    old A8N from Asus eh?.. damn that's an antique from the middle of the bad caps days.. I know.. I've got a K8N and it's dying.. fast for 2004 but win7?.. seriously???.. give it up and buy something that isn't a dead end bad caps antique, first of the dual cores might just about handle it.. but I reckon anything 2002-6 vintage will have bad caps and all kinds of other hardware bugs by now.. so installing and running pretty much anything will be random hit n miss pure luck.. so it's probably not malware causing these bugs, more likely broken software resulting from a bad ram address or a cap spluttering at a non terminal point during install but hey.. try running the result.. heh heh heh

    Trust me.. I'm the old hardware genius round these parts. I bring em back from the dead.. literally.. but some are really dead.. Asus x8N series are not worth the effort.. Mines holding up my 6 year older laptop in the bedroom ;)
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    i do the same thing with blown cap motherboards, psu's & videocard, replace the caps.
     

Share This Page