1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

$250 Cables and other hype

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by jumbalia, Dec 27, 2005.

1. jumbalia

jumbalia Member

I was at Best Buy yesterday in their new high-end Magnolia section. I was looking at their HDMI cables. But what struck my eye was that their HDMI cables were priced between $100 and $250!

A TWO HUNDERD AND FIFTY DOLLAR CABLE. I'm no electrical engineer, but using common sense, lets put this into a perspective.

10 of these cables equals a brand new laptop.
    60 of these cables equals a new, fully loaded Honda Civic.
    240 of these cables equals a new Porsche.

I appreciate a high quality precision item as much as the next guy, but we have to put it into perspective.

On another note:
    Everytime I see those $2000 power conditioners I harken back to the day I took an Electrical Engineering class. One day our exercise was to plug our occiliscope into the electrical outlet and and measure the amplitude and frequency of the sign wave coming out of the wall. The power signal was PERFECT. I am sure a nice capaciter buffer would help with large draws and spikes, but I always roll my eyes when the 18-year old tells me how "ugly" the power is from the outlet.

I am not claiming to be an expert, this is just me gut feeling; am I wrong?

2. diabolos

diabolos Guest

Yes, and No... :)