1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3 DVD burners are not working

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by redpig, May 10, 2007.

1. redpig

redpig Member

first off, please excuse me for my grammatical errors, as i am in a rush, but i am in dire need of your help. im still a newbie to computers so please go easy on me. :)

second, regarding the problem. i have an emprex, lite-on, and a samsung DVD burner. emprex and lite-on has a similar problem, where they can no longer burn anything, but will read discs just fine (actually they read better now that their burning capabilities are not there :X). both are on their updated firmware, so i dont know if it is possible to fix it at all.

as for the samsung, its the SH-S182M model that i have seen on this site a few times, but my problem is unlike those that i have found. i tried to update the firmware, but after it failed, i went into safe mode to retry, but now i think it is dead. the firmware is now "BOOT" instead of SB04 (what it supposed to update to). the drive no longer respond to any interface, but through the computer or by pushing the eject button. if i try to update it again, it would freeze my computer and forcing me to physically reboot the comp. im sure that isn't healthy for my computer...

again, i am sorry for the bad grammatical errors (especially not capitalizing the letters). thanks in advance. if you need more information, just reply back. thanks again.

2. attar

attar Senior member

3. LOCOENG

LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

While you have Nero Infotool fired up check to see that your system and Nero ASPI aren't corrupt....

Have you physically uninstalled the Samsung drive from your tower...actually taken the drive out? You might take to a friend and see if they can install and revive the drive...if so try reinstalling in your tower.

4. redpig

redpig Member

ok update so far: