1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4 - 5+ hour dvd too big to fit in single disc, even with dvdshrink

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by mrtrey77, Apr 13, 2005.

1. mrtrey77

mrtrey77 Guest

hey another newbie here with similar question.

i'm trying to back up a dvd with dvdshrink, except that the contents seem to be over 4.7G even if the automatic shrinking reduced it to 65%.

the red bar appears, and the green bar says 4464, the red bar says 5348. i tried to uncheck the menus, the red bar comes down to 4944.

i tried unchecking everything else but the contents are 0MB, and didn't affect the red bar's status.

i tried backing it up anyway with decrypter and the remaining 30% was not backed-up. obviously because the file was too big.

additional info: the dvd runs approximately 4-5 hours. and i'm using decrypter also.

doctors, any suggestions?

2. Gringle

Gringle Guest

Well first off your target size isn't 4.7gig.

most in here consider 4.36gig the max, the reason for this is 4.7gig is a sales ploy and over 4.36 takes the burn too close to the edge of the DVD, where (particularly with poor media) coasters are made.

see guides http://www.dvdplusvideo.com/tutorial007.html

and http://home.comcast.net/~bbmayo/index.html

Best of luck, 'what's the name of the movie you're out to flatten?

regards gringle;)

3. Ppower

Ppower Regular member

How many Gb is your movie?

4. Car.Mike

Car.Mike Active member

mrtrey77,
    Sounds like w/ a 10 gb movie that you will have to split the disk into 2 parts. A guide for doing that is here:

http://home.comcast.net/~bbmayo/1for1_using_shrink.html

Are you sure that the film you are doing 1 of the movies is not widescreen and the other is fullscreen. If that is the case then just make the version you do not want into a still picture and process the version you want in Shrink

5. squizzle

squizzle Active member