1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Portrait of the Newbie as a Young Curmudgeon

Discussion in 'Audio' started by kness, Jan 5, 2005.

1. kness

kness Member

How are you gentlemen? I've got some boggles for you to ponder...

1. Are two sound cards okay for: playing (winamp, foobar) and authoring (acid, reason, audacity, jack, etc.)? (I'm running Windows and Linux across the Mexican border.)

2. The VIA Envy24 (specifically, the Chaintech AV-710): Is the line-in up to snuff to do analog recording?

3. Had a few bad experiences with Creative drivers, so how are they with Audigy?

4. Does Audigy really have 24-bit capability, playing and/or recording?

5. What were the beloved features of Winamp 2?

6. What kind of processor is on the Harold and Maudio Revolution card?

Of course I can't use two sound cards at the same time... I'm thinking ahead for different feature-sets:
    1. I'm a musician that records to analog and would like to line-in someday at the highest-fi to make WAVs for CDs;

2. I'd like to listen to DVD-Audio or SACD (I don't mind if it downsamples, I would just like quality better than my SB Live Value!);

3. I'd also like to output MP3s (optical, preferably) to my big stereo. (I was thinking FM transmitter at first... a cool thing if you've flat-mates.)

4. I do not play video games. Chess is a board game.

What you say? Any recommendamations, advicism?

I know I'm not going to get Apogee or Studer 16-bit+ recording quality (minimum, wage), but, as above, as long the music goes in-out in-out better than my SB Live -- which isn't really live at all -- then I'm all for it.

Thank you
    ~Kness

2. djscoop

djscoop Active member