1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

About Usenext

Discussion in 'Usenet newsgroups - Help, how-tos and discussion' started by sammorris, Oct 9, 2005.

  1. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    As someone who has previously been conned into paying for a membership from a spoof P2P group, I have to take software very seriously.

    Usenext who have the vast majority of the pop-up market on my PC, claim to have a reasonable service, but before I sign up I would like a few real opinions on the service. £70 is a lot to waste, after all, and if the service level is poor, I don't think i'll be very interested.

    However, it seems a good idea, so if anybody has used it or knows somebody that has used it, please let me know how you/they got on.

    Cheers
     
  2. mattn1979

    mattn1979 Guest

    Hey All,
    Try using it's trial, it will only let you download so much but it will show you how the software works. I'v tried it and it was a little confusing at fist but it has really fast downloads. So give it a try and let me know.


    Cheers+


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 12, 2005
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Is there an option that is actually free?

    All i saw was a trial that wanted to charge your credit card for 12 months...
     
  4. mattn1979

    mattn1979 Guest

    Go To The Web Site http://www.usenext.de and it will say, get your free 14 day trial. You may have to give them your e-mail because thats how you get the trial Password. If you don't want to pay for your music ect.. you can go to http://www.frostwire.com .Let me know


    Cheers and Beers
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2005
  5. Glitched

    Glitched Guest

    mattn1979-Lets say i have a dl speed of dl of 4-5kbps(i have dialup) what speed would it be on usenext and do you have frostwire,is it good,does it have spyware???And 1 last think try to make you pic smaller,its 2 big and remove the A@@hole from you sig thx,just follow forum rules:)
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    4-5 should be the top for anything in dial-up. Certainly shouldn't be any lower...
     
  7. mattn1979

    mattn1979 Guest

    Hey all,
    Thanks for the tip, Do you know where I can get good pictures to post.
    FrostWire is the same Limewire, that means no spyware ect.. It is going to be hard downloading any files if you have dial up. Why can't you get DSL or Cable?


    TaTa
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2005
  8. Glitched

    Glitched Guest

    Thx mattn1979-Just look up stuff on google,my parents wont get it 4 me, and i cant afford it:),im going 2 dl frost wire now
     
  9. mattn1979

    mattn1979 Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2005
  10. Glitched

    Glitched Guest

    lol lovin the pic,lol i leave my dl overnight
     
  11. mattn1979

    mattn1979 Guest

    don't leave DL on all night, it's bad for security reasons.
     
  12. Glitched

    Glitched Guest

    I have PeerGuardian Running,Safty First lol:)
     
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It's a lot of electricity to waste as well...
     
  14. Glitched

    Glitched Guest

    umm I set my cpu so when the cpu is inavtive for 5 minutes everything turns off,so the dl stays on but the moter slows down and power:)
     
  15. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Everything slows down?

    What slows down,exactly?
    If the DL is still running, the CPU, RAM and hard disks are all still on, therefore most of your power is still on. Seeing as these are all still on, the fans need to be running at high speed too...
     
  16. Glitched

    Glitched Guest

    ok my mistake this is what happens, a set is so after 15 minutes my moniter automatically shuts off and my hard disk turn off...umm and the fan isnt loud
     
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Interesting, for the dowload to happen, the hard disk must need to be turned on periodically.
     
  18. Glitched

    Glitched Guest

    dunno how it wrks but whne i move my mouse after 15 or so minutes the whole cpu goes loud ,like start up
     
  19. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yeah i'm aware of that feature and I know how it works, I'm just surprised the fan goes quiet...Oh well, you learn something new every day...
     
  20. uberd0g

    uberd0g Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've been on UseNext for a couple of months now and I love it! I can get 3gb files (DVDs etc) within 2hrs, movies in 20min and mp3 albums in 5min. I still use bittorrent now and again, but usenext is top dog. Download at your full bandwidth (it wont slow down your web browsing either)

    You can get round the 12month sign-up by using your paypal account instead of a credit card. Paypal ask you to verify any payments, so if you don't want to use usenext anymore don't verify ;)

    So far, I've paid usenext £26 for 50gb of hyperspeed downloads - well worth it
     

Share This Page