1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adding Sub to AVI destroy the movie?!? HELP!

Discussion in 'Subtitle help' started by hd22, Oct 12, 2007.

  1. hd22

    hd22 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I Have an avi movie an an srt sub that work great togther, but when i converted the sub using srt to ssa converter and added it to the movie using VirtualDub the sound and subtitles got completly out of sync! I tried it a couple of times and always got the same result...
    Help!
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,567
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Is the audio VBR?
    Did you get a warning message when loading the video that the audio should be recompressed?
     
  3. hd22

    hd22 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, I did got the VBR messege
     
  4. johnvana

    johnvana Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    To: Newbie & Attar
    I use AviDvdBurner to convert my downloaded AVI's to DVD VOB format,
    with no problems(95% of converted AVI's are OK.).Even a split AVI (2) and SRT(2)will be joined to one DVD. (www.avidvdburner.com) cost about 29USD.(i only use the converter and burn with Nero Express)
    The only problem I have is with password protected files and AVI's who needs a DOMplayer wich at that moment could not be downloaded, site was unreachable.
    Regards from Belgium (Europe)
    Johnvana
     
  5. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,567
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    128
    @ johnvana, thank you for the option.

    In VirtualDub, if the audio is VBR, click 'File' 'Save Wav'.
    Now click 'Audio' and 'WAV Audio..' then select the saved WAV.
    Select an audio compression with CBR.
    I use Lame MP3 48000,128,stereo.
    Proceed with the rest of the process.
    Optionally, use VirtualDub MPEG and elect to ignore the warning message.
    It's not necessary to save the wav.
     
  6. hd22

    hd22 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have Lame Encoder But it dosent appear in the audio compression list. I do i select it?
     
  7. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,567
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    128
  8. Pangy

    Pangy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just found this thread through Google, I'm trying it now.

    I've tried the same file nine times now, so this method will be my 10th attempt. Hoping it works, thanks for the info and help, all of you. :eek:

    I'll post back soon hopefully with my desired result. If nothing else, I've learned a lot about how Virtual Dub works and I've gotten a few new codecs in the last day, trying to get through this hehe.
     

Share This Page