1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice for new build

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by veezee, Feb 17, 2008.

1. veezee

veezee Guest

cpu - intel allendale E2160 1.8ghz $74
    mobo - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L $90
    memory - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 $45
    vid card - SAPPHIRE 100206L Radeon HD 2600PRO 256MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 CrossFire Supported $60

-I aready have a WD caviar 320 gb HDD, dvd burner, keyboard, and monitor.
    -I am going to overclock the cpu. Im a newbie and am not sure how cheap i can go on the psu and case (I found this antec earthwatts 500w for $55. Do i need 500W?)I dont care how the case looks. Was looking for some suggestions. Im not looking to play FPS games only RTS.I would like to run vista if possible. Im also going to be importing my minidv tapes from my camcorder and editing them. Can i go cheaper on the video card?
    Im trying to keep this build around $300 while still having a capable system. Your input is very much appreciated.

2. esrever

esrever Regular member

I can tell you right now, Vista eats up resources like water oxidizes iron. I'd go with Win 98 or something.

3. GrandpaBW

GrandpaBW Active member

That's a joke, right? I am not a fan of Vista, but suggesting Win 98 is pretty lame.

4. esrever

esrever Regular member

Best operating system I ever owned. Well, by best I mean minimal problems and issues.

On a side note, lovely grandchildren you have there, BW. I'm looking to start a family of my own soon.

Last edited: Feb 18, 2008
  5. abuzar1

abuzar1 Senior member

Windows 98 SE was good, not so sure about 98. Still you can't honestly tell the man to Run 98 on a computer like that!