1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on building a PC? Barebone and Processor

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by veezee, Feb 15, 2008.

1. veezee

veezee Guest

I am looking at buying a barebone pc from new egg
    - MSI MBOX K9N6SGM-V AMD Socket AM2 AMD Athlon 64 X2 / Athlon 64 / Sempron NVIDIA GeForce 6100 /nForce 405 chipset 2 x 240Pin GeForce 6100 Barebone) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856167009.
    - With this processor- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ Brisbane 2.1GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core
    - I am new to building PC's. Are these good choices for me? I only play RTS games on the PC. I would like to be able to capture and edit my minidv tapes and run Vista. Also would there be upgrade possibilities in the future with this build? I already have a harddrive, dvd burner and monitor. Please help.

2. abuzar1

abuzar1 Senior member

What is your overall budget for the computer with the HDD and DVD burner excluded? I can't recommend that unless you are on a REALLY tight budget.

Honestly the upgrade options aren't that much. You will probably want a video card, and that PSU will have to be changed. The motherboard only does 8x PCI-E so you wont get full performance. I guess you could upgrade the CPU down the road but AMD CPUs aren't that great these days.

3. Logik666

Logik666 Regular member

I would recommend an intel socket-775 capable of handing 45nm CPUs.

Your budget would be great.

4. veezee

veezee Guest

My budget is around $300 not including the graphics card. I am willing to maybe spend a little more if i have to. But i dont really need a gaming PC. I'm a newbie when it comes to stuff like this. So any guidance will definately help.

5. abuzar1

abuzar1 Senior member

So 300 for Case, PSU, CPU, Motherboard, and Ram?

GA-P35-DS3L:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128059&Tpk=ga-p35-ds3l

Ultra PSU and Case: