1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aspect Ratio or Resize Problem

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by dankelly, Jan 14, 2005.

1. dankelly

dankelly Member

Im still relatively new to XVID encoding (been doing it for only a few months) and I have just encountered a small problem. I am currently trying to convert a DVD to an XVID as per my usual steps which are :-

Rip the DVD with Smart Ripper
    (Stats are PAL, 25fps,Interlaced, 16:9, 720*576)
    Demux with DVD2AVI
    Run that file through VFAPI codec
    Then encode with Virtual Mod.
    Rejoin back with Nan Dub

The problem I am having is with the VirtualMod encoding. When i watch the VOB files through PowerDVD, the aspect ratio is fine and you can see the black lines at the top and bottom. When I setup the encoding with Virtual mod and after the resize filter, I then add a Null Tranform filter which i always trim the black lines off to maintain the aspect ratio. However when i go into this filter, the movie is taking up the whole screen so there is no black lines to crop. The outcome after the whole process is a video that looks like the old 4:3 format and looks terrible.

Has anyone encountered this before and know a solutions or has any tips to try.

Kind Regards,
    Daniel.

PS the movie is the one of the new DVD series by Steven Speilberg "Taken"

2. Ryu77

Ryu77 Regular member

After you crop the black lines, you will have to resize it so it is as close as possible to the aspect ratio.

For example 16:9, re-size to 720 x 400. Or if it's 2:35, re-size it to 720 x 304.

However, Power DVD seems to stretch out DivX movies to the full screen if the black borders are cropped. So I would recommend you use an alternate media player. Like BS player etc... Even Windows Media Player will play it to the correct aspect ratio.

3. dankelly

dankelly Member