1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ASPI Layer for computer????

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Acme8790, Aug 7, 2004.

1. Acme8790

Acme8790 Member

How do you know if you have an ASPI layer in your computer. I have an older gateway computer that I am useing to backup my DVD's. This is my first time doing it and saw at on a thread that you need to have an ASPI layer properly installed. Can anyone help me find out if I have one installed?

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Hi,

You can use a cool little utility called ASPICHK to verify if you have an ASPI layer and if it's working correctly. Here's a link:

http://www.adaptec.com/worldwide/su...oduct/EZ-SCSI_5.0&filekey=aspichk.exe&sess=no

Some people can get by fine without ASPI and others find they need it for certain apps to work correctly on their system.

If you find you need ASPI, then I'd recommend ForceASPI which is a good one. Here's a link to the download and instructions:

http://club.cdfreaks.com/lite/t-101614.html

Let us know if this helps :)

3. Acme8790

Acme8790 Member

Thanks for the info... It does not seem to hard to back up your DVD's I am in the middle of my first one now. It is Shrek for the wife to let the kids use on there own. THe compression rate was slightly over 60%. Will that view like the original? With the extras I even took that lower, to like 45%. Is there anyway to cut the extras out completely?

4. baabaa

baabaa Active member

Yes, I am one of the fortunate to not have to use the ASPI layer interface...........eh Nephs...(wink, wink)....LOL.....

Yes you can remove ALL the extras including subtitles/angles/unneeded audio streams etc - this will reduce the compression rate needed for the main movie - thus retaining as much as the original quality as possible.