1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Attn: Newbies..if your DMA is OFF or PIO Mode (here is a very easy guide to fix it)

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by alkohol, Nov 20, 2005.

  1. gonblowup

    gonblowup Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello there guys.

    I also had DMA issues...came here to find out how to turn them off...however I do not have a Primary or Secondary IDE channel in my device manager. I tried to find out if theres another way to turn the DMA on...yet I don't see anything in the device manager...

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. gonblowup

    gonblowup Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just wanted to point out I only have two NVIDIA nForce4 ADAMA controllers and one NVIDIA nForce4 Parallel ATA controller. Is there anyway to change the DMA settings with those?

    Also, wanted to point out my main cd/dvd combo is SATA and the other is through IDE. I cannot burn anything with either drive...
     
  3. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i would check your bios and make sure the drives are enabled
     
  4. gonblowup

    gonblowup Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The drives are enabled...or at least I think they are...only reason I think they are is because both drives can read disks...they are both dvd drives and they can both copy dvds to the hard drive through shrink...my only problem is neither drive can Write anything...

    if you would like screenshots of bios let me know...

    can anyone help?
     
  5. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    what brand and model are the optical drives?

    a screen shot of device manager would be more helpful
     
  6. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @gonblowup
    You need to go ADD/Remove programs in Control Panel and remove the Nvidia IDE derivers. Just the IDE derivers(related to your burner). Then reboot the computer and let Windows use its own drivers.
    here are instructions :

    http://forums.nvidia.com/lofiversion/index.php?t12773.html
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2008
  7. gonblowup

    gonblowup Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Before: [​IMG]

    After removing IDE Drivers/reboot:
    [​IMG]
     
  8. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    And? What is the DMA situation?
     
  9. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    it should be fixed after you rebooted? now check your drives and make sure there in DMA mode
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2008
  10. gonblowup

    gonblowup Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DMA situation is this...every channel both primary and secondary was in transfer mode of "dma if available" and current transfer mode of "ultra dma mode 5"...as shown like this...

    [​IMG]

    EXCEPT for the first primary channel...which was in transfer mode of "dma if available" but a current transfer mode of "pio only"...

    so i uninstalled the first primary channel, rebooted, and the current transfer mode of "ultra dma mode 5" finally showed up...

    So...with this now fixed...should i try burning a dvd/cd? or do i need to change some other options as well?

    (p.s. before making these changes this morning i ran another dvd-burn test and saved a complete log...so if you dont mind checking it out..let me know and i could post it up as a new thread so you guys could check out the rest of the log to make sure there isnt anything else i may need to change before running another test)

    i really appreciate everyones help in this
     
  11. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Give it a try and, post the log if it fails again.

    I have the same Nec burner as you. Is your firmware up to date? or maybe you're using the Samsung...
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2008
  12. gonblowup

    gonblowup Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ZoSoIV and cyprusrom I wanted to truly thank you guys for solving this issue I have literally had for YEARS now. Ever since I built this computer I could never figure out why my computer was so cursed with burning DVDs/CDs...I was literally planning on just building a completely new system because I thought the issue was due to more technical difficulties.

    With yalls help, I have been able to today burn my first ever DVD with this computer. I really appreciate it. And yes, I = n00b.
     
  13. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Cheers! I'll open another cold one for you!!
    IDE nvidia drivers are a pain. unreliable when it comes to DVD burning, they conflict...The lates release was suppose to fix the problems, however, they still are problematic.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2008
  14. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    great glad you're going again. as cyprusrom said conflit software is a pain. at least if it happens again you will know how to fix it
     
  15. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @Zoso,
    Just noticed you were transferred to ADA club! Might be late, but congratz anyway!
     
  16. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    cyprusrom you weren't late just happened today ,but thank you sir! ,its my sencond one at aD now lol

    and gonblowup post back if you have anymore problems sounds like you're good to go though
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2008
  17. gonblowup

    gonblowup Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Will do! Burns are going great now! I have been burning both cd's and dvd's left and right ever since my problem was fixed. Thanks again!
     
  18. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Lol, reminds of me over two years ago after I came to AD as a depressed newbie failing to burn on CMC Mag discs:~)!
     
  19. raja1530

    raja1530 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Im having the same problem with this DMA but the pic for the sites are gone how can I fix???
     
  20. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    go into device manager and uninstall the IDE controllers reboot and let windows install them correctly
     

Share This Page