1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audio & Video sync problems

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by dtech, Oct 17, 2004.

1. dtech

dtech Member

I'm very new to the VHS to DVD conversion process and I just created my first DVD and plays great in my PC DVD rom and my sony dvd player - however, the audio and video slowly starts to drift apart until it's about a second apart towards the middle of the dvd. By the end of the dvd, it's about a whole second out of sync. I used Arcsoft Showbiz to capture and convert my VHS movie to an mpeg2 file, then used DVDlab to split the audio and video for conversion to DVD video files (vob. bup. and ifo. files). I'm not sure why it happened - did I miss a step before compiling to dvd in DVDlab? I'm not familiar with what I need to do to fix this problem so if anyone who knows what I might have done wrong please help me. Thanks in advance!

2. Frankwm

Frankwm Member

I have exactly the same problem.

The captured mpeg2 is perfectly in sync when viewed on my PC, but after authoring with DVD-lab and/or TMPGEnc DVD Author, the A/V are out of sync in the Video_TS files.

There is a "fix" using ShowBiz, but it seems to compress the captured mpeg2 down to a maximum bitrate of 6800 kbps, even though the original captured mpeg2 was 8000 kbps. My concern is that I am losing video quality with ShowBiz reducing the bitrate from 8000 kbps to 6800 kbps.

Here is the "fix" I mentioned:
    Launch ShowBiz.
    Add the mpeg2 to a new album.
    Drag the mpeg2 to the storyboard/timeline.
    Click on the "Make Movie" button(Upper left of screen, middle button of 5), save or don't save project, your choice.
    You will then get a "Save" pop-up window. Choose a File Name & a File Save Location. Click on "Format". A drop-down box will give you choices. Select "DVD File" as your choice.