1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

avi files to vcd or svcd in thick persons langage

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by supermac, Apr 13, 2003.

1. supermac

supermac Guest

i have downloaded a couple of movies for my kids from kazaa they are currently in avi files. i have nero but thats it. how do i turn them from avi files and burn them as vcds or svcds which ever is the easiest. can someone tell what i need and where to get it from in plain english step by step. i am a total newbie only got a computer for xmas and i am self taught so this will tell you just how slow i am. i've been trying for 2 weeks now with no success. when i encode thhem with nero it takes hours and hours and the end result just says will not fit. so how do i split it onto 2 disks and get the audio in sync with the video because when we watch it on the pc after about 30 mins its no longer in sync. please help a total retard in need.

2. loaded

loaded Moderator Staff Member

There are numerous threads on this issue. Ger TMPGEnc (free and on this website) and convert your file. Use MPEG tools to merge, or cut.

Paul.

3. Dela

Dela Administrator Staff Member

I recommend VBR SVCD! The best programs to use would be DVD2SVCD and CCE SP. However CCE SP costs a few thousand so lets forget I mentioned it shall we??

DVD2SVCD
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd_rippers/dvd2svcd.cfm

You can use it with TMPGEnc which is free and can be gotten from here...

TMPGEnc.
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_tools/tmpgenc.cfm

Now first thing you need to do is install (or extract, depends on which version you get) TMPGEnc into a folder and in DVD2SVCD click encoder and select TMPGEnc.

Where it says TMPGEnc x.xx, is where you have to point DVD2SVCD to the TMPGEnc.exe file. Thats easy enough!