1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BENQ DW1655 Issue

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by Jrocc019, Jul 5, 2006.

1. Jrocc019

Jrocc019 Member

I just purchased the 1655 and installed the latest f/w BCHB. Everything seemed to be fine but it won't play a DvD without chopping it up. I checked the read spead (Nero 6.6.0.14) tried each speed all the way down to 4x and it still skips. I'm afraid to start burning if the drive can't even play a DvD smoothly. I'm using Win DVD to play the DVD. I had a 1650 and it did the same thing..i sent it back and upgraded to the 1655. I checked all of the settings I could think of and still cant get it. Any assistance would greatly be appreciated. I am a newbie so please go easy on me. LOL I did try and do my homework here and cdrinfo and I didn't see similar probems.

2. gwendolin

gwendolin Senior member

Two questions, is that Nero 6.6.1.4 you are using and what brand of discs are you using.

3. binkie7

binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

Hi Jrocc019
    Check you DMA mode on your drives:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/260038
    It may be set to pio (aka 'the stuttering drive') - that may be why your have a playback issues.

Next to check would be the ide cable - you may have a bad one - or one on it's way out.
    Are you using the same ide cable from the 1650?

4. Jrocc019

Jrocc019 Member

Thank you very much for your prompt responses...you guys are awsome!!!