1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

best DVD burner?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by starwalt, Feb 23, 2007.

1. starwalt

starwalt Member

Hello to all.

I am new to the DVD burning world and have a few questions. If the answers to these questions could be found somewhere on the site I apologize in advance I was unable to find them. I was wanting to know what you all considered to be the best dvd burner out there? Is there a burner that will burn DVDs without the help of decrypter or shrink or are these programs or ones like them necessary? any help or insight into my new adventure is very much appreciated, and I thank you all in advance for your help!!

Jason Starwalt

2. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

No burner will do the things that ripping/burning programs will do.

Asking what the best burner is like asking what the best flavor of ice cream is, lol.

I like this LiteOn because it is has litescribe and can booktype.

3. aabbccdd

aabbccdd Guest

yeah you will have to software to remove the protection from the dvds

the best drive out there is the Plextor PX-716A its not being made anymore but you can still find them here and there like e-bay . there still making the PX-716SA sata drive and the PX-716AL slot load drive all are 8MB cache. BenQ makes some of the better drives on the market also but they pulled of the drive market also

4. PacMan777

PacMan777 Regular member

The Plextor 716AL is the best burner I've owned or built with. Some people have mentioned a shorter life span for the slot loading system. I've not seen it and I've had hundreds of burns on my personal drive and many more in and out for playing. It booktypes, but no lightscribe. I've got an HP that reads better and has lightscribe. I've got all the bases covered with the dual burner setup except for DVD RAM (which I never use).