1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

best dvd to use?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by smitty25, Jan 17, 2005.

1. smitty25

smitty25 Member

what is the best type of dvd to record onto I thought dvd+rw would be the best. I am very new to this recording dvd and stuff but want to learn as much as I can. I thank
    everybody for helping me out I will probabley have lots more questions. Also wondering if there's a place to buy blank dvd for a decent price on the internet i live in a small town and prices arn't great.
    thankx smitty25

2. brobear

brobear Guest

Meritline or Newegg, sales at reputable spots like BestBuy.com. Meritline handles Ritek which is a good brand. Steer clear of Memorex for the present. Most name brands are decent; Ritek, Ricoh, Verbatim, TDK, Sony, Maxell, there are others. Remember to buy branded media from a reputable dealer with a good guarantee.
    RW is for rewriting, records more than once. The + and -R for one time recording and are usually less expensive. + and - are both good. It goes to what your player and burner are compatible with. The rest goes to personal preference.

Me, I prefer the brands that sell Ricohjpn coded discs in 4X +R. Check disc codes with freeware DVDInfoPro of DVD Identifier.

3. smitty25

smitty25 Member

hellow was wondering what dvd burning softwear you use and can you burn all dvd's. I bought click 1 dvd but having some probablems. I run windows xp home.
    thankx.

4. RussReef

RussReef Guest

"can you burn all dvd's."

-- Yes. I haven't run into one I couldn't.

"dvd burning softwear you use "
    -- 'DVD Shrink' or 'DVD Decrypter' to rip
    -- 'Nero Burning Rom' to burn

Download these software applications:
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd_rippers/dvd_shrink.cfm
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd_rippers/dvd_decrypter.cfm