1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best/easiest way to convert DVD to Divx? Need help...

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by bcounty, Jul 25, 2006.

1. bcounty

bcounty Member

Hi,

I'm a newbie at this, and what I want to do is make a DivX format back-up of a TV show I bought on dvd, so I can put a bunch of episodes on one dvd. This particular show is in 16:9 and is approx. 44 minutes long per episode. I have a Philips DVP642 player, so the result will need to be able to play on that (which, I guess would be DivX 5 format?).

What is the best way to do this that is easy, yet will retain excellent picture quality?

Should I just follow this guide here show here?
    http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/dvd2divx_anamorphic.cfm

...or is there a better or different way to do it?

Any help is appreciated -- thanks!

2. matt72

matt72 Regular member

Hi,

First I would suggest using a ripper like dvdfab decrypter (free)as it should be able to handle the copy protections on your dvds. Next I would use autogk (also free) http://www.autogk.me.uk/ to convert to divx format. Be sure to follow the guide and the lowest compression I would go is 700mb as the quality is still pretty darn good. I am assuming this is an episodic tv show (do not post the name) so each file should be less than half of the 700mb I recommended. If your standalone dvd player plays divx movies then simply burn the divx files as data. Post back if you need anymore help. Sorry forgot the link to the free version of dvdfab http://www.dvdidle.com/free.htm. See the 1st link in my signature for reference guides on how to use dvdfab decrypter.

Last edited: Jul 25, 2006
  3. bcounty

bcounty Member

Thanks for the post!

I'll be doing this on a friend's computer, and I think he uses "DVD Shrink" to rip DVDs (not to actually shrink them, just the ripping part). That should be okay, right?