1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Black & white capture; no colour

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by batsuichi, Jun 23, 2004.

1. batsuichi

batsuichi Member

Hi there
    I have a TV@nywhere-Master' PCI TV Card.
    I installed the latest drivers.
    I want to put my old VCR videos on DVD, using
    WinDVD video creator'.
    My VCR has only two Scart-out and a left/right RCA Audio-out.
    My TV card has an s-video-in and RCA-video-in.
    I connected the s-video cable from my TV card to a switchbox that converts Scart to s-video and, or RCA.
    When I play the video or try to capture the image, it shows a black & white image.
    Can someone tell me how I can solve this problem?

2. Daisukey

Daisukey Member

hey i'm having similar problem when recording a tv show to my camcorder.. I'm asking why in dif forum but no reply yet.. it could be a ntsc & pal problem...

3. batsuichi

batsuichi Member

My VCR is a PAL but can play NTSC. I have tried both PAL and NTSC tapes, but they both give a black and white picture on my PC.
    When using my DVD player:
    DVD s-video-out to PC s-video-in gives colour.
    DVD RCA-video-out to PC RCA-video-in gives colour.
    DVD RCA-video via scart-video-out to PC RCA-video-in gives colour.
    DVD s-video via scart-video-out to PC scart-video-in gives black and white.

4. Minion

Minion Senior member

Well this is exactly what happens when you try to capture Pal Video on a NTSC Capture card or Visa Versa...You should also make sure that your VHS tapes aren"t copy protected because captureing Copy protected Tapes can cause a simular problem.....Cheers

5. Daisukey

Daisukey Member

Minion u mean the Digital Camcorder whi I imported from Japan has a NTSC capture card inside it?

6. batsuichi

batsuichi Member

My VCR is PAL (plays NTSC no problem on my PAL TV)
    My capture card is PAL/SECAM (supposed to capture NTSC)