1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blockbuster trace chip

Discussion in 'Safety valve' started by keep4u, Feb 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. keep4u

keep4u Member

Whats the deal with the Blockbuster Trace Chip ????

2. CKY_2084

CKY_2084 Guest

Im glad you asked, alot of people here know about it, but refuse to discuss it and I dont know why. As a noob I think you should know that Blockbuster as well as Netflix has a chip in every DVD they rent out. It is deep in the disc and cant be disabled. Basically everytime someone rips one of their rentals on a PC it will put a file on your HD and everytime you connect to the Internet it will send that file out to their source and eventually they will turn you over to the MPAA and then you will be sued. Thats why a lot of people need to know about it, but I guess people here figure that since piracy is wrong that piracy is wrong that most people here have good ethics and doesnt do that anyways, but I know that not everyone is perfect and yes some people actually rent movies and then rip and burn them. These people need to know that it doesnt take much to get caught. Also now some Blockbusters will scan a disc after it has been returned and if the chip was active during the time you rented it they will just automatically press charges. I think the chip activates when it spins a certain speed like when its getting ripped. Know one really knows for sure how to disactivate it, but a lot of people here have their own theories. Anyways Im sure others here will explain the whole process to you in better detail than I can.

3. CKY_2084

CKY_2084 Guest

DOUBLE POST DELETE THIS ONE!

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 13, 2005
  4. flip218

flip218 Moderator Staff Member