1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blue screen of death - please help me

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Defu, Mar 30, 2007.

1. Defu

Defu Member

i just built my first computer ;

intel D 3.0
    2gb patriot ddr2 800
    asus p5n32-sli deluxe
    8800 gts

i am constantly getting the blue screen of death. it happens 3-5 times a day. i updated my mobo bios, uninstalled and reinstalled all drivers, even reinstalled my os twice, i tried xp home and xp pro, nothing i have done solves the problem. i get this message with the blue screen ;

irql_not_less_or_equal

please help me, i am a novice and i don't know what to do. your help is appreciated, thank you.

2. Zeyf414

Zeyf414 Regular member

Welcome to the club! BSoDs are a royal pain. I suggest doing the following because I don't think you can add attachments here to our posts.

1. Sign up at TechSpot Open Forums.

2. Go to the Windows OS forum and post your problem with your Minidumps attached. If you have more than one then Zip them (though some people will attach 3 or four without zipping). Someone will rwead your minidumps and help steer you to what is causing the problem.

3. Your minidumps can be found by going to your C drive >Windows folder> Minidump folder. I have found it much easier to make another folder and place it on my desktop and transfer these minidumps there for easier access.

By the way, I looked at your system specs and I notice you have an 8800 video card. Just a heads up, but people are having TONS of issues with NVidia's drivers for this card under Vista.

Last edited: Mar 30, 2007
  3. Defu

Defu Member

to be honest i would rather get help here. nothing against that other site, i just prefer to stick with AD. i might try it though if nobody here is able to help me.