1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem Boot up problem

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Kafka, Oct 23, 2022.

  1. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    This morning I turned on my computer but instead of booting up as usual it made a lot of whirring noises, switched off, then turned itself on made a lot of whirring noises then switched off, repeating this for what would have been an indefinite period if I hadn't switched off the power. It only started correctly when I disconnected the power cable. Now I am afraid to turn off the computer at the end of the day for fear that I won't be able to get it to start up again. This would be a disaster as I am in the middle of arranging my mother's funeral.

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,327
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    is it a laptop or a tower?
     
  3. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    It's a tower and rather old by computer standards. I am wondering whether I should replace the powerboard?
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,327
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    can you open up the tower to look at the motherboard to see if the pop can shape capacitors are not domed top or leaking brown stuff?
     
  5. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I guess so, though I am not technically minded.
     
  6. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    28
    If you have a tower, how did it boot with the power cable disconnected? Sounds to me like you have a power supply going bad.
     
  7. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    It didn't boot with the cable disconnected. I removed the power cable for a minute then reattached it before rebooting.
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,327
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    I'm thinking it is a power supply issue too.
     
  9. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,093
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Did you by any chance remove any other cables? Is your graphics card integrated or component? What make and model is your computer?
     
  10. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Could it be that I need a new power board? My computer was built for me at a local computer shop so I don't have a make and model. I didn't remove any other cables. I don't know if the graphics card is integrated or component. I suppose it is possible that the SanDisk SSD PLUS 240 gb has reached the end of its life. I used to have a little program which told me what percentage of its life remained.

    I will have to leave the computer switched on rather than switching it off overnight as I usually do, just in case I can't reboot it.
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,327
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    the power board is the power supply. it is a box usually silver colored but sometimes black mounted in the tower that converts the house voltage down to 5 & 12 volts dc.
     
  12. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    28
    If you would like us to pursue the issue further, run msinfo32. Save the file as a .nfo. You can zip it and post it here or you can upload it to a site such as dropbox, wetransfer, etc., share it, get a link and post the link here.
     
  13. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I have uploaded the minfo file you requested as well as a report showing the health of my Sandisk SSD.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,327
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    it says under "health status" - " bad". look at getting a new drive.
     
  15. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,093
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    128
    If your drive is working even a little the first thing I would do is remove any important files you might have stored on it. Then as ddp said, get a new drive.
     
  16. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Good advice. My friend at the computer shop told me that my drive was very old and SSD drives don't last forever. Fortunately they are very cheap so I won't have to get a new computer. Incidentally, I make four backups of my important files every day.
     
  17. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The problem I have with what you posted is that, despite the titles, everything is pictures of your disc health. I needed the .nfo from running msinfo32.
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,327
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    wither 1, his drive is bad according to that crystal disk info program so msinfo32 currently not needed.
     
  19. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,093
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    128
    The health status BAD, is kind of hard to miss.

    A little note on SSD drives. They make fast and swift main drives and they're pretty good for long term storage provided you're not constantly filling and deleting files on the drive. Put files on them and then leave them and how long they will last is anyone's guess. I use an SSD as my main drive and for application that will stay for long periods. I have separate disc drives for writing and deleting files.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,327
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    I use a 128gb ssd for windows & a 1tb for data on both of my towers.
     

Share This Page