1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Building Computer and Need Help!

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Auslander, Aug 12, 2005.

  1. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,137
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the bios manufacturer, award, ami or phoniex(sp?). check in the bios to see if it has live updates
     
  2. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    it's Phoenix, with no live updates. still fighting with firefox :( i think it's time for a total removal and reinstallation.
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,137
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
  4. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    still firefox no worky :(

    i'll try that to update my bios, then, ddp. thanks! :D
     
  5. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Firefox finally worky! i'm soo woot-ass-ically happy at the moment. and i have some cool new themes :D had to delete my profile and create a new one. i can't honestly believe i hadn't thought of it sooner. oh well. :p

    as for the bios update: i won't be able to do it tonight, but i'll devote a bit of time tomorrow and give it a try. again, thank you, ddp. you are a hell of a guy! XD
     
  6. mindscape

    mindscape Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have had the same problems w/ AMD, solutions that I have worked through;
    1) Bios is set to default, fail safe option
    2) Reset CMOS, if you don't know what that is, simply look for three tiny metal prongs coming out of the motherboard, a black connector is on two of them side by side, if these numbers represent the metal chips 123 and the connector is on 23, move it to 12 with computer off and unplugged, wait 10 seconds, then move it back to original position.
    3) Is fan attached to motherboard, processorfan is critical, but with AMD's they are tempermental if you do not have your motherboard fan installed
    4) AMD's also have ground issues as I have learned, is all of the casing on and intact while you're performing these tasks, this will cause it to get aggravated and reboot as well.
    Just some ideas, not perfect, but maybe helpful
     
  7. goodrow

    goodrow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Anyone ever heard of this, I was given an old sony Mom board and it is full of mem, and it works great. It was just missing a BIOS batt. so I get one install it, and it boots, so I turn if off and it will not boot again till I take the batt back out????
    I have never run into that problem before.....

    Computer are fun, yaaaaa! I like beans Yaaaaaa!!!!
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,137
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is the plus side up or down on the battery? is it a cr2032 marked on it or what? what pins are the cmos jumper on according to the manual, normal or clear??
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2005
  9. bruceb3

    bruceb3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In one of your posts, you said " it shouldn't matter" with the psu and fans etc. The psu does matter. What psu are you using? I was having the same kind of problems when I got my amd64 3500+ Winchester and msi k8n neo2 board. My 300 watt Zalman psu just wasn't up to snuff. I put in an Ultra x-connect psu and most everything went smoothly after that. Could have been a coincidence, I suppose.
     
  10. goodrow

    goodrow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yep I had the batt backwards....
    Thanks for the help
    Mike
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,137
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn
     
  12. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    ddp, chaintech doesn't seem to have the bios flash .exe program on their site anymore. any ideas?
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,137
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
  14. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    it's not an option on my bios, ddp. believe me, i looked..i even tried the keys anyway :(
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,137
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the date near the top left corner as in month/day/year?
     
  16. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    working on the pc right now, but i'll tell ya next time i restart :D
     
  17. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    the bios date is 2/16/05, ddp.
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,137
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
  19. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    that's as far as i could ddp, i found a link somewhere that mentioned emedded flash utility but the link was old and generic..
     
  20. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    the thing is,ddp, the manual doesn't say anything whatsoever about updating the bios. it lists a few bios settings and goes through them, but that's it.
     

Share This Page