1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Building my 1st System, it wont turn on!!

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by dopefish, Feb 12, 2007.

1. dopefish

dopefish Member

I bought some parts to build myself a cheap dual core system today. But when I put it all together, it wouldn't start even though the motherboard is getting power, and so is the case!

Nothing happens when I hit the power switch, no fans, no signal.

Here is what I have:

Landmark Athen A412BB-400W PSU
    E6300 CPU
    intel DG965WH MB
    2x 512 DDR2 PC-5300 CL5 Kingston Value Ram
    120 GB Western Digital IDE HD
    onboard sound/video

This is my first time building a PC on my own, so I followed the instructions for the mosther board and CPU installation. All the plugs seem to be in the right place. I have the two power supply connections running to the Motherboard (2x2 and 2x12) and all the plugs from the case have been attached to their respective sockets.

The motherboard and case are both lit up, so I assume they are getting power. I had a hell of a time getting the stock heatsink on, but I finally got it.

My only ideas are maybe something about the way I put the CPU in ( It doesn't seem as firmly plugged in as old CPU's I had installed.) Or maybe the On/Off switch connection. But it is in the correct spot, I have even reversed it to check.

I am hoping someone out with a lot more experience than me might be able to recognize my problem just from the symptoms I have described.. but so far all my friends have been useless. Tech support hasn't replied either :(

Let me know if you have any ideas.

Thanks,

Mike

2. BigDK

BigDK Regular member

Firstly make sure that the BIOS is version 0816 or later.
    Take the CPU out, and double check you have it in correctly, it should only be able to sit one way because of the notches in two of the sides.