1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Built First New Computer. Shuts Down. Now wont Power Up...

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by skinny85, Jun 4, 2004.

1. skinny85

skinny85 Member

Okay. I have spent the last week building my first pc. I used my old drives, RAM and graphics card.

Specifications:

Pentium 4 3.0C with Thermaltake P4 Heatsink
    Abit Sis 661 Mobo - 8x AGP (Support P4 w/400 - 800FSB)
    EVGA - Geforce FX 5900 - 128Mb
    1 GB stick of DDR Ram (bought off of pricewatch; website said it was industry standard, compatible with 99% of boards)
    New Case with Red LEDs on front with Red Led Fan on side and back, as well as psu
    450 Watt Powmax Power Supply

So, I built my new computer and installed Windows XP and Office and loaded all of the drivers. I started playing Need For Speed Underground when my computer just SHUT DOWN. I couldnt just turn it back on. I had to flip the power switch off and on on the back of the psu, then press the power button on the case. It came on and worked for about another 20 mins, then the same thing happened while I was listening to mp3s and installing another game. I clicked it off and on on the back of the psu, then pressed the power up on the front of the case. This time, it powered up for about half of a second, then cut off. Each time I pressed the power button, the amount of time that it stayed on got shorter and shorter until it refused to power.

Is this a sign of a bad PSU? I looked up the PSU brand that came with the case and it was very cheap.(like 10 bucks). Im thinking that the mobo, ram and graphic card are all good since i have used them before.

If i wait for like an hour without powering it up then try to give it power, it will flicker on for a split second. I have tried unplugging everything( the extra fans and graphic card) except the necessary needed power components and still nothing.