1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

burned vs pressed

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by FUTILE, Apr 2, 2002.

  1. FUTILE

    FUTILE Guest

    Is there a way to make a cdrom/cdr/player etc. detect a burned cd as a pressed cd?

     
  2. Pio2001

    Pio2001 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Players can't make the difference(AFAIK), and burners can't be fooled.
     
  3. cd-rw.org

    cd-rw.org Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Players should not recognize a CD-R from a CD. At least I haven't heard of any.

    Futile didn't mention what was his purpose in doing this. Some game titles downdays have an ATIP protection, which means that copies might not work from a CD-R media in a CD-RW drive. Using an emulator like Daemon Tools this should be by passed ( http://cd-rw.org/software/cdr_software/cdr_tools/daemon_tools.cfm )
     
  4. The_Mule

    The_Mule Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    CD-RW.Org is right. :)

    I have a standalone HHB pro burner. When I put in a normal CD. It says "CD". When I put in a blank CD-R, it says "CD-R." When I put in a finalized CD-R, it says "CD".



    Hey, how come "smilies" (emoticons! hee, hee) don't work at all on the board?
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2002
  5. FUTILE

    FUTILE Guest

    The reason I asked is I copied a game with clone and installed the game from the copied disk and everything copied fine and installed fine. I go to play it and it keeps asking me to insert the original disk. The game knows that it is a cdr and not the original pressed disk. I was wondering if there was an easier way to get around this than having to crack the installed game.
     
  6. The_Mule

    The_Mule Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's probably not the original CD vs CD-R that's giving you problems. More than likely, for whatever reason, the copied CD-R is *not* an identical version of the original CD, and the game is picking that up.

    There's more info about such type of copying on www.cdrfaq.com and the cdr primer on www.mrichter.com.
     
  7. cd-rw.org

    cd-rw.org Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I presume that you have used a recent CloneCD with proper settings and hardware. I think quite a few games recently have included the ATIP proctetion, 'cause it's very simple way to make duplicating more difficult.

    1) Read the game to an image again and then run Daemon Tools
    2) Doesn't the CloneCD now have the "quick menu" in the tray, which can hide the CD-R media? I am not 100% sure, since I don't have it running.
     
  8. FUTILE

    FUTILE Guest

    clone cd does show this option. Mine is blacked out.
    I do not see any options to turn it on in the registry.
     

Share This Page