1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning a Dreamcast game

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by 123meetch, Nov 18, 2006.

  1. 123meetch

    123meetch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When you are ready to burn a dreamcast game such as a .cdi or .bin file, can you just burn the game even though it is over 700 Mb onto a regular CD-R,or do you have to rebuild the image file so it could fit?
     
  2. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    A CD can only hold 700mb. So you'd need to edit it, as long as you are comfortable doing it yourself.
     
  3. 123meetch

    123meetch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how do i rebuild an image file, and what will be some setbacks on the game after rebuilding and burning the image file on a CD-R?
     
  4. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I don't know how to rebuild the image; but I do know with games like Xbox there are files you can remove. Someone in the console forums might know something about dreamcast. However, I do not. Sorry.
     
  5. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    - i'd have thought the game would fit. for one it (in theory) would already be the correct size, at worst you might have to overburn very slightly as some images are slightly bigger than a normal CD-R

     
  6. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Theory, pah! Who needs theory? :p

    But yeah, in theory if you've ripped a game which is meant to be 700mb then it should burn regardless of file size..??

    But... I don't know what the average size of a dreamcast game is.
     
  7. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    ah, don'tr worry about the word 'theory' too much, i have burnt loads of Dreamcast games to CD, not had to overburn much myself
     
  8. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Cool, spose it's not nessacary to rebuild it then 123meetch.
    I don't even remember playing a dreamcast; let alone owning one!! :p
     
  9. xhardc0re

    xhardc0re Guest

    This isn't going to help you burn the games, but i found this oldschool story about the Utopia group breaking the game protection. Man they really got scr*wed from the easy copying. There are so many IS0s on torrent sites, but finding the HW these days is not easy. Or you find the Sports edition on Ebay which I think had the improved anti-mod stuff built into it. Too little too late
     
  10. GhostPhas

    GhostPhas Guest

    yea, i remember dreamcast, its thinking
     
  11. segments

    segments Guest

    take out some of the larger files or modify them to smaller size. burn and get ready to play :) :)
     
  12. thebox

    thebox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've been burning Dreamcast games since the first one was uploaded to the Internet.
    I noticed that some of the Image files were bigger than a standard CDROM. I also had images close to 800megs
    I quickly figured out that you can burn them to CDROM by using the OVERBURN option and burning at the lowest 4x and no higher than 12x, as long as the track time reads up to 82minutes.
    Once you have this burnt and a buddy wants a copy, you can just do a Direct Copy up to the MAX your CD/DVD burner will allow
     
  13. igegold

    igegold Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2007
  14. igegold

    igegold Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2007
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,174
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    128
    igegold, lightning struck!!! posts edited
     
  16. RyuKonton

    RyuKonton Regular member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What program do you guys use?

    I've a Project Justice 2 .cdi, and its 724MB, so I'm assuming this will work as long as I select the "overburn" option and burn between 4x and 12x speeds?
     
  17. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Most of us use Nero Burning Rom or IMGBurn. I reccomend Nero for this though, as if you use IMGBurn, it'll be more comlpicated.

    What you said should work just fine. With CDs though, they shouldn't be burnt slower than 16x assuming they are 52x CDs. I burn most of my data/audio CDs @ 24x with no problems.
     
  18. Vicious88

    Vicious88 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Okay, I'm glad to see I don't have to create my own thread for this.

    Here's my issue:
    I am running Chankast_Alpha_025, with full BIOS and I want to run Shenmue on it. I didn't think it would be that hard, but nothing I have done seems to work. I have everything I could get from the links I could find;
    all the .dlls for ASPI
    BootDreams
    Kalisto - Perfect Shenmue 4 CDs.rar

    I tried using BootDreams to burn the CDI images to CD, and I thought I was successful. In reality I may have just wasted 4 CDs, because Chankast simply says "Please Insert Game Disc". Atop that, everytime I put the discs in my drives the name of the drives change to read "CD Drive" and I can't explore them because "either the data is currupt or unreadable"

    To make matters worse, I can't seem to get my hands on a working copy of Deamon Tools to save my life.

    So I am begging the kind users of Afterdawn to help if anyone knows how to resolve this issue. This is SIGNIFICANTLY more complicated than all other emulators I've ever run.

    Thank you in advance.

    [Off Topic]
    Hey, Ripper.
    [/Off Topic]
     
  19. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
  20. Vicious88

    Vicious88 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks, Ripper. Thats awesome. Hopefully I can find some way to mount all of these CDIs to virtual drives. I'll post whether I had any success or not.
     

Share This Page