1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning Mpeg-2 Files To Play On Your DVD Player And YOU!

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by ZincAlloy, Nov 10, 2004.

1. ZincAlloy

ZincAlloy Member

FINNALY!!!! I found an EASY WAY TO DO IT!!!!!

www.Videohelp.com/avi2divx.htm

download vitualdub-mpeg2

follow the easy to follow guide! im a beginner and i did it!!! easy as PIE! If i can do it anyone can!!!

thanks guys!!!

Zinc.....

2. vurbal

vurbal Administrator Staff Member

Since the guide is for converting to MPEG-4, which the overwhelming majority of DVD players won't play, I don't see how it would help most people play anything on their DVD players.

3. aldaco12

aldaco12 Active member

I haven't tested it yet, but the idea and the software seem very good to me: you can add a subtitle to a MPEG-2 file, instead of converting the input MPEG-2 to MPEG-1 format, first (probably losing quality, very time consuming, blah blah). After that, no one forbids you to make a MPEG-1 with TMPGenc from the output subtitled AVI, isn't it?.
    I appreciated a lot Zinc Alloy's edge, instead.
    Have I lost something in the program's description?

Last edited: Nov 11, 2004
  4. vurbal

I'm not understanding exactly why you would do that I guess. The title for the thread says the final format is supposed to be played on a DVD player, which that guide will not help you do. MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 files are the only formats that will play on most DVD players, so I don't see the advantage to doing a conversion to AVI anywhere in the process because every time you re-encode you lose quality. The more conversions you do, the more quality you lose.