1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning Speed Question

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Carbos5, May 3, 2005.

1. Carbos5

Carbos5 Member

I'm new at this stuff, guys, so please bear with me.
    First, here's my setup: running XP Pro SP2 on a Dell Dimension 4600, P4 3GHz, 1024MB RAM, and burning on a Plextor PX-712A. I'e been using Verbatim DVD-R's, rated 16X. My software is 1Click DVD Copy and DVD 43 for decryption. I have also used DVD Shrink and DVD Decrypter when a particular movie has proved difficult, (not too often).
    My question is how do I know what speed I am burning at? If I am reading my setup correctly, I'm burning at about 8X. Shouldn't I be at 12X? Considering the burner model and the media I am using?
    So, just how do I know what speed I am burning at, and how do I increase burn speeds? Thank you.

2. zippyd

zippyd Active member

So you want to know how to increase write errors.....

In all honesty the faster you burn, the more you increase chances of write errors and creating incompatibility with your DVD player. Of all the people that have been here a while and have plenty of experience, 99% of them will recommend burning at 4X or slower. The extra time required is only a few minutes and well worth the wait to get a quality burn.

I really don't have any experience with 1 Click, but I do know that it uses a special edition of CopytoDVD to burn. You should be able to set the burn speed somewhere in the options.

3. Carbos5

Carbos5 Member

I am aware that faster burns increases the likelihood of errors. However, I wanted to experiment a bit and see what my limits are, using my current setup I described. I'm thinking 12X realistic, but trying is the only way to know.
    1Click, by the way, is truly a one click operation. Great program, particularly for a n00b like myself. But, it does not have a speed option available, at least as far as I can see.

4. Mort81