1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Buying 360 neeewb! Flashing???

Discussion in 'Xbox - Backup discussion' started by sandy10, Jun 21, 2007.

1. sandy10

sandy10 Member

Hi,sorry to ask the dumbest question but im new to this gen.
    Ive been into consoles and chipping etc. for YEARS,i first indulged in this genre after purchasing Streetfighter 2 for snes for 100 quid
    (i know!!!).Someone had mentioned Magicoms so i bought a Supermagicom for the snes where you would backup your games to 3.5 floppys!
    Ive had Swap magic for Ps2,Xeno for the Cube and an xtreme chip for my original Xbox.
    Im going to get a 360 but this new gen. of consoles seem alot more complex.What is flashing exactly? I know what flashing specifically is ie refresh your bios etc. but what is the relevance and necessity when it comes to playing copies?
    Basically im getting a 360 and want to play my backups,is there some way of doing this freely via an exploit of some sorts or is it chip time?
    Why do people seem to have to keep updating there flash to play backups or am i getting confused.
    Is there not one simple procedure that once completed will let me backup and play forever or do you need to (as i suspect) update?
    Sorry for all the questions but i need to know.
    Is there any sign of a Ps3 backup system and if so...when are there going to be some decent games TO backup in the first place!!!
    I appreciate any positive comments you guys can give
    "an old sailor on new seas"
    (or some other crappy metaphor for middle age man playing consoles sadness!).

2. bailey07

bailey07 Regular member