1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bypassing the RPC

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by vtb, Nov 16, 2004.

1. vtb

vtb Member

Hi all - I just picked up a new Toshiba laptop, with a DVD burner. Now, as a consultant, I travel a lot all over the world, and frequently pick up DVDs to watch in the hotel room after work. So this whole "5 regional code changes and done" doesn't really work for me.

I am interested in finding a solution. After doing some research online at rpc1.org, I gather there are 2 alternatives:
    1/ flashing the burner with RPC-1 firmware, so as to remove the region code setting
    2/ a software solution that resets the change counter after every shutdown

For my particular model - Toshiba DVD-ROM SD-R6112, with Driver 5.1.2535.0 (laptop itself is a Satellite A60-772) is there a preferred solution?

Do note that while I am somewhat computer savvy and familiar with command line prompts (still remember MS-DOS), I'm not an expert user by any stretch. Those @experts only or you'll fry your DVD-ROM@ warnings on flash software a bit worrisome.

Also, which software would you recommend? I was thinking of DVD Region+CSS Free to start with. I assume this simply resets the region-change counter - any experiences with it?

TIA,
    Vandit

2. billmex

billmex Guest

all you have to do is find on this site dvd43 along with patin cofffin, these will let you play any region n you burner, and it is free, it always runs in the backround so if you don't use your burner it is quiet. this sholud do the trick for your problem .

3. scf_au

scf_au Regular member

Billmex's suggestion is a sound one. I use the same method myself. But you should be aware of the following:
    1) There is a free version of DVD43 and a pay version. If you accidentally installed the pay version, it would be very difficult to get rid of. Below is the link to the free version (DVD43 1.4):
    http://www.dvd43.com/