1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

C&C Generals & Zero Hour

Discussion in 'Windows - Games' started by dizzynoob, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. dizzynoob

    dizzynoob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all

    When playing on my backed up copy of Generals/Zero hour, most of the time it runs smooth enough, but on some levels the screen slows right down and starts to judder as if i have other things running in the background (which i haven't. I.S. off A.V. off). My comp isn't what you could call up to date but should be able to cope with something like generals. Is this due to my comp or software or cos it's a backed up game????

    comp spec

    intel celeron CPU 2.60ghz

    768mb of ram

    ati 7800 pro gc

    (if more info needed pls ask)
     
  2. tycobb

    tycobb Regular member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It's not because it's a back up game because they load from the hdd unlike console games.Your pc isn't very good for games but like you said it should run c&c.

    See if there is a patch for it and update your video card drivers.
     
  3. dizzynoob

    dizzynoob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It's been patched up to 1.04 and have got the nocd crack. GC is up to date on drivers (8.263.0.0). It's not a major drama if i can't sort it out but i just couldn't understand why it was slowing down so much when it should really be running fine. Not knowing much about comps i was hoping to sort it out online but no biggy. Am in process of building new comp anyway (thanx to all the support from afterdawn) so should all be sorted in 6 months or so. Looks like i'll just have to put up with the judder til then.
     
  4. DrThunder

    DrThunder Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had the same exact problem I looked on the net for awhile and I found a couple other people who had the same problem, however we couldn't find a fix or a workaround for it.
     
  5. mark5hs

    mark5hs Guest

    do you have that problem when you use the original disk?
     
  6. dizzynoob

    dizzynoob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    some times. It's intermitant on both. It just seems to get about half way through a level then slows to a crawl. I've checked to make sure nothing has sprung to life in the background but it's just the game running. I just wanted to find out if it was my processor that isn't coping or if it's ram or what cos i haven't a clue. The graphics card should be more than adequate. I don't have enough knowledge of comps to know what part of my comp (if not all) is not handeling the game well. As i said it's no big issue as i should hopefully have new comp soon but it would just have been nice to know what it was causing it and if it was a prob others were having.
     
  7. DrThunder

    DrThunder Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Its not a hardware problem its a game bug. I had it happening on 2 completely different systems.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2006
  8. mark5hs

    mark5hs Guest

    not sure what to tell you. I tried the No CD patch before but It had a bunch of glitches and I ended up going back to the normal disk because it doesn't work online with the no CD crack.
     
  9. josh99

    josh99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeah i know C&C GENERALS or zerohour these games lag so much! even if you had a good computer

    but what i advise you, go to options and set all the graphical settings to the minimum, that means if your screen resolution (in the game was at 1024X900 or something like that set it to 800X600)

    In generals zero hour go to options then theres some choices telling you, the graphics should be : low, high or medium ,well chose custom then go and set everything to 0 (shadow, reflexion all these things arent that important and dont really affect while playing)close everything exit game then re-enter it you will notice the game is going faster

    and you really have to checkup in your graphic card is updated like if youre with nvidia go to www.nvidia.com then seed for downloads.
     
  10. lecsiy

    lecsiy Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Its because theese games were designed for slower computers.

    You could say weirdly your computer is too fast for that game!

    However look around for the latest patches. Not sure if V1.004 is the latest!

    Lecsiy
     
  11. josh99

    josh99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    actually no, this is wrong. C&C generals are designed for powerful pcs, but C&C:RED ALERT 2 now i agree with you, red alert 2 or yurì's revenge are designed for slow computers. :S
     
  12. lecsiy

    lecsiy Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ahh my mistake! Yep josh is right was thinking of a diff game!

    MAan i gotta get some sleep lol!

    Sorry

    Lecsiy
     
  13. josh99

    josh99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lol no problem mistakes are possible.
     
  14. mark5hs

    mark5hs Guest

    I dont think the problem is his computer. I could play at low-medium settings without any slowdowns on my 1.6ghz pentium 4 dell with 256 ram and an mx400. Im thinking it might be because of the crack.
     
  15. josh99

    josh99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well sure that copied games play a role of lagging
     
  16. keithyb

    keithyb Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a decent computer 2 gigs of pc 3200, 3500+ amd, geforce 7800 gtx 256mb and the game still runs slow when you get a lot of units on the screen at once. Not to mention if you are USA and you have 1000 air drop planes dropping money down. I just hope that C & C 3 is faster...even tho it's going to be more graphic intensive.
     
  17. post30

    post30 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    why c&c generals zero hour run slow . That it says the requirement is low and my pc can support it but why the speed is slow .
     
  18. josh99

    josh99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    because they want to make us angry:mad:
    anyway as keithyb said hope the new C&C 3
    wont lag that much
     

Share This Page