1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can copied DVD's work on all Players?

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by espoboy8, Aug 7, 2005.

1. espoboy8

espoboy8 Member

I am new to DVD burning, but learning quickly. However when I burn DVD's
    some will work on some DVD players and some won't. Now I know that some players will play either/or DVD-R/RW and DVD+R/RW disks, but I was wondering if there was a way to produce and disk that would be able to work on every DVD player in NTSC format. I mean there has to be a way, otherwise how would major motion pictures sell their movies if they would not be able to on all DVD players.

2. k0k0m0

k0k0m0 Regular member

3. Auslander

Auslander Senior member

espoboy8, if your burner is capable of bookmarking, dvd+r is the way to go. otherwise, dvd-r is your best bet.

4. colw

colw Active member

For info - commercial store brought DVDs are pressed and not burnt.

For best burning results - use good quality DVD media - Vertabim, Ritek, TYs etc.

5. colw

colw Active member

oops!

Last edited: Aug 8, 2005
  6. moogie14a

moogie14a Guest

I'm having a problem burning some movies to DVD+R/RW.

I have only burned one movie using DIVXtoDVD that will play on my stand alone DVD Player (Sony). I've tried five other times and can't get another movie to play on the DVD player (it plays fine on the computer DVD player).

Will a DVD-R work better?

Help!

7. Mort81

Mort81 Senior member

espoboy8 and moogie14a,

What are the makes and models of your dvdrw drives? You may be able to booktype dvd+r/rw media to dvd-rom (most compatable format) if your drives are capable.

Dvd-rom is most compatable followed by dvd-r then dvd+r.

Note: poor quality media, burning to fast, and excessive compression can also cause compatability problems.

Mort

8. moogie14a

moogie14a Guest

If I slow the KPS down will that help?