1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant Burn DVDs

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by blueadept, Mar 26, 2007.

1. blueadept

blueadept Member

I'm a newbie so if I'm in the wrong forum, please redirect me.

I've been fighting this problem for 4 months.

Until then, I had been able to burn DVDs using either Nero (which came with my IOMagic external DVD) and Deepburner. Suddenly, it stopped working after I loaded Norton Save and Restore.

I have worked with Symantec (Chat), Nero (e-mails), Gateway(Chats - maker of my e-machine), IOMagic (chats), Radified (forum), and some others I don't even remember.

IOMagic even thought it might be the hardware and kindly replaced my unit.

Problem is basically described as shown in Deepburner:

and in Nero as:
    The DVD unit is external and uses USB:

I have tried writing from directly connected drives (C:\) and USB connected drives.

I have tried burning at 16X, 8X and 4X.

I had added/updated Adaptec ASPI.
    I have:
    Unloaded any Roxio products using RoxioZapper

Unloaded Nero using:
    CleanTool
    DriverClean
    InCD-CleanTool
    Reinstalled Nero

[At this moment Nero is unloaded]

Un-installed and re-installed:
    The drivers for the burner
    The Primary IDE controller to enable DMA.

One of the "Chats" recommended instaling 'Intel Acellerator'. This Hide/Deleted/ ? the Advanced Tab on my Primary/Secondary Controllers
    --> Properties in Device management (that was no fun at all as the advice I got was to reload the OS. Lucky, I found the solution with Google after a heart-attack couple of days).

I think I have done just about everything anyone has written about on the net.

Please H E L P !!!!

2. krkm120

krkm120 Regular member

maybe i missed it in your post are you burning anything different then what you where before?

3. blueadept

blueadept Member