1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant burn fast anymore?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by seadale, Jan 23, 2005.

1. seadale

seadale Regular member

hello i'm a newbie obviously. I have been using dvd x copy platinum to back-up my movies. it use to take me about 30min for the whole process, now its well over an hour. any idea why my computer is getting slower & slower. any help would be greatley appreciated! Tnx

2. larrylje

larrylje Active member

Theres a few post out there with others having problems with slow burns.

Sugestions:

1 Search for them post in the search field

2 your drive fell into PIO mode and out of Ultra mode.

3 defrag your hard drive

there is some other reasons this could happen so for more info search for slow burn problems or slow backup problems you should get a few hits.

3. seadale

seadale Regular member

how do i check my drive for pio & or ultra mode. excuse my ignorance. i've never used any other program other than dvd copy x platinum. everything else is new to me.

4. brobear

brobear Guest

Hopefully you're using windows XP. Go into Help and Support in the Start menu. Search DMA. You want to go into the Device Manager to check the settings. They can be checked in Nero's infotools if you have that program on your PC. Below are the steps involved.

Opening categories in the Device Manager can be acheived by double clicking the desired entry or expanding the category by selecting the plus box to the left. I say double click to expand or click when a single click makes the selection of a tab in a window. Here are the steps to check DMA in the Advanced tab.

Start
    Control Panel
    In Control Panel double click System
    In System Properties window Click Hardware tab (if not already open)
    Click Device Manager
    In Device Manager Double Click IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers
    Double Click Secondary IDE Channel