1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant match DVDR on stand-alone player because of codec ?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by ste1200, Apr 21, 2007.

1. ste1200

ste1200 Member

Hi, I'm very new to all this so be gentle :) I've just bought a DVD burner and downloaded a film from the net. It downloaded as a .Bin and a .Cue file. I want to be able to put this film on a DVD to watch in my stand-alone player. I did a search and think I needed to change this format to an .mpg so I did this and burned it to a DVD. This didnt play in my player so I tried to open it on my pc. I got a message saying 'missing Codec'. I downloaded the codec to my PC and I can now watch it on my PC, but this doesn't solve the problem of not being able to watch it on my stand-alone player. Can I just burn the .mpg and the codec to a DVD and try again ? I can't see it being as simple as that, please help !

Thanks in advance
    Ste

2. laddyboy

laddyboy Regular member

Welcome to AD.

Your player likely requires the video to be in VCD or SVCD format to be able to play it. I'm guessing you just burned the mpeg as data to a CD/DVD. The cue file should contain the necessary info for burning the VCD. To use Nero:

http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/bin_cue_with_nero.cfm

In Nero Express, select the CD burner as the recorder, select Burn Image as the project type, select the .CUE file, etc., set the burn speed and burn the CD.

3. ste1200

ste1200 Member

Thanks for the reply. So by the above info, if I download a film in .mpg or Bin/Cue then these can be put on CD and watched without any codec needed ? What are the extensions that need to be put on DVDs to be played please ?

Thanks
    Ste

4. IHoe

IHoe Senior member