can't play copied dvds in standalone player

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by ecp26, Jan 4, 2007.

1. ecp26

ecp26 Member

Hello to everyone, I am new to afterdawn. I have read a lot about the problems everyone has with playing back a copied dvd on standalone dvd players and this is exactly my problem too. Unfortunately I haven't found the solution in any of the posting yet. So lets see if we can achieve this together.

Here are the facts, my observations and my problems:
    Facts:
    1)Backup programs tried: AnyDVD, DVDshrink(mostly this one)
    2)Burning softwares tried: Nero 6, Easy Media Creator 9
    3)Burning hardware: LG DVD Burner(burns -R and +R media), Lite-on DVD Burner(burns only +R media) I just downloaded RadarSync 2007 to update to the latest drivers for all my hardwares.
    4)Media tried: LG, Verbatim, TDK, Sony, Maxwell, Phillips, Generic brands always +R or +RW
    5)Burning speeds tried: 4x, 8x, 16x
    6)System using: AMD Athlon XP 2400+, 1GB RAM
    7) DVD Players tried(all of them play +R media): Lenco M3, DK Digital (a German brand), Panasonic, JVC, Sony
    8) Always use DVD labels (have read that this could be a possible cause of the problems)

Problems and observations:
    1) The dvd starts playing ok until about 30-40 minutes into the movie and then it starts skipping, freezing, you name it.
    2) If I stop, eject and start it again it just won’t go ahead anymore.
    3) If I stop today and start again tomorrow at the point it stopped the day before, then it will play normal and won’t skip or freeze at that point anymore. And exactly this is the fact that aggravates me the most. WHY DOES IT WORK THE NEXT DAY JUST FINE? This says to me that the problem CAN’T actually be the media but I can’t figure the logic to this. In other words I can continue watching without problems for another 30-40 minutes and if I‘m lucky till the end of the movie.