1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

capturing video gives only poor quality or LARGE file size, Need help

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by wrench, Jun 21, 2003.

1. wrench

wrench Member

I am new to all of this so please be patient. I have searched the site but did not find a clear answer to this.
    I have been trying to get the video from the camera to the pc via firewire. I have captured the video using Windows Movie maker and got very poor quality with a normal file size. I then captured it using Ulead videostudio 4.0 SE basic. With Ulead I got excelent quality but the file size was enormous. An 8 minute video was 1.6GB. Is there a way to get better video with out the huge file size . Even if I compress after it is captured (I don't even know if that is possible), I would still run out of hard drive before I could capture a 1 hour tape.
    The captured file name says it is a AVI but its properties says " file type " is "video clip".
    Is there a better program I could use or is it a simple problem and I am just stupid?
    Thanks in advance.

I am using a panasonic PV-DC252d.

Last edited: Jun 21, 2003
  2. mike_eng

mike_eng Guest

You are right, it takes a lot of hard drive space. If you want decent video, my experience is to capture DV-AVI and then convert to MPEG2.
    It takes about 4GB of disk space for each 18 minutes of video.
    Also, you should be running NTFS so you don't run into the 4GB file size limitation of WIN98.
    If you are interested in capturing and editing video, you may have to invest in a high performance 60GB or higher disk drive.

3. wrench

wrench Member

Thanks for your help. What program do you use to convert it to mpg2 and what size file do you end up with if you start with a 4 gig avi. I am assuming that you will lose some quality, but how much?
    Thanks again.

4. mike_eng

mike_eng Guest