1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing bitrates in DVD2SVCD (CCE)

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by gort9k, Aug 18, 2003.

1. gort9k

gort9k Member

Hi:
    I've been trying to change the bitrate settings in DVD2SVCD, but it seems that I can not accomplish that task.

What I want to do is to encode a DVD movie (ripped with DVD Decrypter) as CVD. In the encoder tab I've selected CCE (Cinema Craft Encoder), as I understand it is better and faster when encoding CVD as well as SVCD.

The point is that I want to set minimun bitrate as 1300 and maximun at 2520, with an average of 2350. So I go to the frameserver tab and play a bit with movie lenght and CD size, but DVD2SVCD always load a predetermined template that set the minimun bitrate in 300. So I've got a lot of blocky backgrounds. So far I am getting better results (quality wise) encoding in VCD than in CVD.

Does anybody knows an easy a proven way to change bitrate?

Thanks

2. Dela

Dela Administrator Staff Member

hmmj well the 300 is not the problem at all mate because, the average birate is what really matters!

Im not too familiar with CVD however, is it actually MPEG-1? I know the framesize is different but thats all I know on it!

3. gort9k

gort9k Member

Thanks, dela, for your reply.

I must be the thickest guy in the forum. It was right in front of my face. In the bitrate tab at the botton of it there are fields to assign minimun, maximun and average bitrate.

As for the 300 minimum... I'd say, dela, that it matters. Encoding with that minimum bitrate (CVD, at least) gives some blocky scenes; after rising minimum to 1300 the blockiness dissapeared.

A downside of rising bitrate is that it also makes longer the encoding time. It went from 3 hours and a half (average) up to seven hours (P VI 2K, 512 DDR, and plenty of free gigs. in my hard disk)

4. Dela

lol good for u dude!

5. coreydj