1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Command line argument

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by conebob, Feb 24, 2007.

1. conebob

conebob Member

Ok Im new to all this comp stuff so dont shoot me down if I sound lost ...Its because I am.

(1) Ok when I start my comp with Win98se it comes up with a box saying
    THE COMMAND LINE ARGUMENT IS NOT VALID VERIFY THE SWITCH YOU ARE USING.
    Now after looing on the net it seems like this is a problem with XP so why am I getting this message.

(2) When I try to start Outlook Express 6 or MSN Messenger 7 I have another error box with ONE OF THE LIBRARY FILES NEEDED TO RUN THIS APPLICATION IS DAMAGED MSIMG32.DLL I have downloaded a new .DLL file and replaced the one in both the Systems & Systems32 folder but still I get the same message. I did reinstall both Explorer and Outlook Express and still no change....HELP ME BEFORE I TAKE TO MY COMP WITH A CHAIN SAW...

Cheers
    Mark

2. Indochine

Indochine Regular member

That message usually comes when Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express settings or accounts are hosed. (It is not just an XP message.) Is Outlook or OE set up to run at startup? Maybe your email accounts have got corrupted and need to be removed and reinstalled. At any rate the message points to a problem with Outlook Express.

Sure sounds that way when you read question (2) in your post.

Maybe you should back up the files you want to keep and reinstall Windows. Windows 98 is getting a bit old these days. Can you try XP?

You say you are "new to all this comp stuff". Does this mean you just got given an old computer with Windows 98 on it?. It might be better to start over with a fresh install.

3. conebob

conebob Member

Internet Explorer and Outlook Express are not set to run on startup.