1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete Newbbei Needs Help

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by grace101, Jan 22, 2005.

1. grace101

grace101 Member

As you can see I am a complete Newbbie and the information here is just mind boggling. So much so that I have found myself lost in it.
    I have a gateway AMD 650Mhz. processor, 100Mhz. External bus, 640 Mhz Ram, 30Gb hard drive with about 20Gb free, 2 internal Memorex double layer dual =/- format drives.
    In software I have the Nero Smart Start that came with the Memorex drives, DVD X Copy and DVD Shrink. I have checked and the Patin Coulfine Engine VSO driver is loaded in the device manager of my system. This must be the remains from Win 98 but I have upgraded to Win XP. For media I have the Maxell DVD-R 4.7 Gb/ 2 hrs. that I purchased at Staples.
    My DVD X Copy would not even read the DVDs until I upgrade at this web site. DVD X Copy will now read but not burn the DVD to a back-up. DVD Shrink will read and burn the back-up DVD but the DVDs will then not play in either the DaeWoo or the Toshiba DVD players.
    I have tried reading the messages in these forums but I keep getting lost in all of the technical language. Could someone please help me?
    Thank you,

2. hursty

hursty Active member

shrink,alone will not burn dvd.it has no burn engine??
    so what you have done is impossible.
    you must have burnt with nero.check your settings.
    try downloaded dvd decrypter(free) and burn with that.

3. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

Grace,Try burning some + format maxell's. Rule of thumb:eek:ld stand alone players "-" dash format. Newer stand alone players "+" plus format.

Also, a slower burn speed may help.

You could try some rw's,however stand alone players have a harder time reading them.

How do those backups look when you play them on your pc? The driver that burned it should be able to play it ok.