1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

computer freezes while installing windows xp and 2000

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by pollution, Dec 15, 2006.

  1. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The computer freezes while installing windows xp and 2000 usually at the same point, before the computer ever reboots. Why?
     
  2. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Faulty hardware.

    Only way to know what piece, is to do some diagnostic testing on the parts in the system.

    If the CPU, memory, hard/CD drives pass their tests, the last on the list will be the motherboard.
     
  3. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, i used a good cd drive to check so it is not that, Used a good power supply too so it is not that, put the hard drive in another good computer so it is not that.

    How do I test to see if it is the RAM, Processor, or Motherboard?
     
  4. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If the CPU had any issues, you'd know right from the start. Basically, the computer wouldn't go past the POST screen. You might have hard drive lights and such light up, but nothing after that.

    To test the memory, use MemTest86. If you don't have a floppy, create a CD from the ISO.

    Now....when checking the memory, you should test each module one by one, and in each separate slot. So if you have memory modules A and B, and slots 1 thru 4...start off with A in slot 1, let the tests run, and if it passes...shutdown, (remove power cord from PSU, wait 30 seconds) then place module A in slot 2. Repeat tests.

    If you know that memory module is good, then suddenly it fails when you moved it to a different slot, don't use that memory slot. However, if the module fails no matter what slot it's in...there ya have it.

    Once you know all the slots are good, you don't have to test the next memory module in each slot, just use the first one, however, if all those pass and the problem still exists, chances are that a hard drive controller (chipset) has went bad on the motherboard. Not much you can do but replace the board.

    Also, check to make sure all cables/power lines are secure.

    I take it, when either installation gets to that point, the system just goes quiet and the drives wind down?
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2006
  5. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes, you are 100% correct.
     
  6. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Sounds like a bad chipset....just went thru one of those not but a week ago.
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    use a pencil eraser on the gold pins of the ram to remove oxidation off them as had to do that on a few customers.
     
  8. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I forgot to mention it but the computer would come on half the time and nothing would appear on the monitor... now the computer turns on and nothing comes on the screen ever. does this suggest it is the motherboard?
     
  9. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Only real way to tell...is to be able to test the other devices in other machines. But I'd put my money on the motherboard needing replacement.
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    try another psu to elimenate that possibility
     
  11. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The motherboard was bad.
    New motherboard installed and everything working!

    Thanks all
    special thanks to Morph416
     
  12. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I noticed the capacitors on the bad motherboard have a orange substance that is kind of hard that came out of the top of the capacitor(I don't know how I did not notice it before). The capacitors went bad?
     
  13. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Since capacitors are designed to hold an electric charge for a given amount of time, any damage or leakage occurring will cause them to fail.
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    the capacitors went bad. i've replaced capacitors on a far number of motherboards & psu's with a healthy number fixed & working right. do you know how to do board soldering if want to fix that board?
     
  15. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No, I do not. I bought a cheap soldering gun from Wal-Mart and could not solder but this had to be a cheap gun. About $5 dollars for both the gun and a roll of solder.

    If you could show me a guide of how to board solder I am pretty sure I could follow it.
     
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    the way i learned was to take apart old xt & 286 motherboards in the early 90's. also learned to do surface mounted ic's when working at celestica. what is the wattage of that soldering iron & the diameter of the solder?
     
  17. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    30 Watts soldering iron with a burnt head that needs to be replaced.
    The soldering iron has a plug to turn it on and that is it.

    The diameter of the solder is 95/Tin 5/Antimony.
    I am not sure if the diameter is correct, I do not have the whole package it came in.
     
  18. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ddp, you out having a beer tonight?
     
  19. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    at a customer from 5 til 11pm doing a fresh xp install. that is not the diameter but alloy mixture of 95%Tin/5%Antimony. the diameter as in 1mm(.040")or what?
     
  20. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It is 1mm diameter.
     

Share This Page