1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confusion about digital audio, got some questions...

Discussion in 'Receivers and amplifiers' started by Burnist, Jan 13, 2005.

1. Burnist

Burnist Member

Hi all,

Forgive my ignorance but I'm new to the whole home theater thing. Got a Sony home theater system last week and its my first experience with that kind of thing. I know, I know, I was living in the stone age...

So my question is this. Can digital audio be transferred by RCA cables? It is my understanding that either a Coax or an Optical cable must be used to transfer digital audio and that digital audio cannot be transferred via plain RCA cables. Is this correct?

I ask this because here is my situation. My DVD player is hooked up by a monster coax cable. The receiver shows the digital audio is being decoded, everything sounds great. But what about broadcasts on TV that show presented in dolby digital? My cable box only has RCA outputs on it, so its hooked up to my home theater receiver using standard RCA cables. I notice that whenever a show comes on TV that says its presented in dolby digital, my receiver does not decode it. The same goes for my Gamecube too. I play Metroid Prime 2 and right at the start up screen it says Dolby Digital 2 or something like that. I have my Gamecube hooked up only by RCA cables so my receiver will not be able to decode the digital info right?

I hope I'm not sounding retarded. Thanks for any clarification as I'm new to this all. I'd like to be able to decode and enjoy all digital audio signals if possible. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? Thanks in advance!

2. bpitt

bpitt Member