1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Conversion of MP4 to M2TS

Discussion in 'Blu-ray players' started by ckwan, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    FFmpeg for AC3 encoding? Are you sure about this grkblood? Is EAC3to not the best choice for this as I recommended?

    To add to cyprusrom's advice on YAMB for demuxing... Yes, YAMB is a great GUI for MP4box and can do the task quite fine. However, tsMuxeR can be the solution also as it has an inbuilt demuxer.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2010
  2. albert_dk

    albert_dk Guest

    I think mp4 is fine , why to m2ts?
    my requirement is convert m2ts to mp4. and transfer to my ipod or psp,it's common use? right?
     
  3. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just got a problem while trying to install AVSEdit, a software contained in the BD-Tools-1. I got the following error message:

    C:\Program Files\AVSEdit\Languages\Catal?txt
    An error occurred when trying to rename a file in the destination directory:
    MoveFile failed; code 123
    The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

    Please help
     
  4. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The reason that I want to do it the other way around is I want to watch these videos on my big screen TV using the blu-ray player.
     
  5. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Never mind. I just solved this problem by changing my computer's Regional and Language setting.
     
  6. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I got the following error message while trying to install .NET Framework 2.0, a software contained in the BD-Tools-2 package:

    "Setup cannot continue because this version of the .NET Framework is incompatible with a previously installed one."

    I also installed .NET Framework 1.1, also a software contained in this same package. Could this be the reason causing the problem? If so, how could I resolve this conflict?

    Please help.
     
  7. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Having a problem in running YAMB.
    Here is what I did:
    Open Yamb -> Click on Editing -> Click to extract streams from AVI/MP4/MOV/TS files -> Import the MP4 files -> Click Next.
    Then I got the following error message:
    "Path of MP4Box is missing."
     
  8. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It does not appear that tsMuxeR would accept MP4 as input file. Here is what happened when I tried to demux my MP4 file with tsMuxeR:

    Open tsMuxeR -> Click ADD -> Navigate to the MP4 file and Click on it -> error message: "Can't detect stream type"
     
  9. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Never mind. I just downloaded the latest beta version and it works this time.
     
  10. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    The reason you got that message, "Path of MP4Box is missing." was probably because you downloaded the version that included just the GUI,and not MP4Box.exe, MKVExtract.exe , and EAC3to.exe.
    The second version has everything included.

    tsMuxer does accept MP4. I got the message "Can't detect stream type", but the audio and video streams were detected and loaded, it was the subtitle stream inside the MP4 that was not recognized.
    .
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010
  11. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Never mind. Just downloaded the newer version 1.10.6 and it takes the MP4 file this time.
     
  12. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just tried your suggestion. EAC3to didn't take AAC as input file.
     
  13. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you ever try EAC3to on AAC input. I just tried it and had no luck.
     
  14. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
  15. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This converter that you suggest does not accept aac format for input. I think I am going to pass the entire MP4 (both video and audio) without audio conversion as suggested by RUY77 into tsMuxeR to see if it would work. If it doesn't, I am going to have to give up.
     
  16. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No, you cannot input just the audio, you have to input the mp4 and will extract the audio to an AC3 stereo.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010
  17. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How exactly did you try to use EAC3to? You do realise that this is a command based program? Although, there are some nice GUI's available.

    AAC audio is definitely supported by EAC3to.
     
  18. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here's what I did:

    Click EAC3toGUI -> At the window "EAC3to Conversion Utility v2.00", Click Brouse -> Navigate to the AAC audio file and click on it -> Error Message: "Source File does not appear to have a valid exrension".

    If this is not the right way to do it, can you tell me how you would do it?

    Also, I must point out that when I put a flac audio to this converter using the same method, it was accepted although the output was a kind of strange. The audio appeared to have been speeded up.
     
  19. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks. It works this time.
     
  20. ckwan

    ckwan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This software that you recommend is not a freeware and it costs $60 to register and it can only do file conversions. What I am thinking now is that it probably would make a lot of more sense to just buy a digital media player which can play back a lot of more different computer files from a portable hard drive and at the same time can connect to the big screen TV. The cost of this kind of player is about $100. Over the long run, it will save me money from having to buy a piece of software here and another piece of software there. Besides, it also takes a lot of time to read through the blu-ray conversion guide and install a ton of software onto the computer in which a lot of stuff in my opinion is not very useful.
     

Share This Page