1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Convert DVD to AVI

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by TaGY2K, May 25, 2005.

1. TaGY2K

TaGY2K Member

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this question.. I am an newbie..

I want to convert and DVD to avi.. what is the best way of doing it and I want the best quality as possible to do it.. Is there an program that will do it in on steps?

2. stardust

stardust Regular member

3. The_OGS

The_OGS Active member

Use GordianKnot
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_encoders/gordian_knot.cfm
    With the XviD codec
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/codecs_and_filters/xvid_koepi_unstable.cfm
    You need a nice 2-pass rip for good quality.
    It is important to adjust the XviD encoder options for maximum quality...
    Check out the GKnot, and we can help with XviD quality settings if you get it installed & running.
    Also important to encode AVIs that will playback okay on standalone devices (ie. Arcos etc.)
    Regards

Last edited: May 25, 2005
  4. TaGY2K

TaGY2K Member

Hi, I have download both of them now .. the thing is don't know how to use GordianKnot .. what is the setting i am using for the better quality to rip from DVD to AVI or DIXV or XViD...

5. andmerr

andmerr Guest

6. dennalynn

dennalynn Guest

spam removed

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2007
  7. DJ-Rikki

DJ-Rikki Member

Could try:

DVDShrink (set to NOT split to 1gb then rip only the movie in the reauthor bit to your HDD)

Pull VOB file into VirtualDUb mod

Set audio compression and video compression

Save AVI file.

R.

8. The_OGS

The_OGS Active member

DivX and XviD are both codecs to encode MPEG4 AVI (audio/video interleave).
    Ack! Shrink is not involved (in any way) in the production of a DVD backup to MPEG4. Use DVDDecrypter in IFO mode instead.
    This is exactly what GordianKnot was created to do :^)