1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

convert ts file to dvd+ps3

Discussion in 'HD DVD discussion' started by deadone36, Apr 14, 2009.

1. deadone36

deadone36 Member

hi all, been reading topic for over 2 hours regarding this, im to be honest im totally lost.

ok here goes....
    i have 1 ts file. 3.73 gig at 1080i and i want to be able to convert this to a dvd5 disc and also be able to add the same file to my ps3 so i can watch it in hd.

please help a total newb.

i can convert using convertxtodvd but does this remove the hd side of it and make it a std dvd.

all your help is appreciated as alwasy.

thanx
    mick

2. dalice

dalice Member

Hi there,

I have recently been trying to solve almost the same issue, although slightly different: I was trying to convert a 1080i .ts file to a dvd5 disc that could be played in a regular DVD-video player, meaning I need to convert to 480p (not quite HD) but keep the digital sound track (ac3 dolby digital 5.1 surround). Since you have a PS3, you can convert the 1080i .ts to AVCHD or MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 format, which is readable by your PS3.

I won't bother explaining how to convert to DVD-video (480p) with AC3 5.1 sound, since you are looking to convert to MPEG-4 H.264 (which always means AC3 dolby digital audio).

Step 1: use mpeg streamclip (free!) for converting mpeg-2 ts to mpeg-4 H.264, download from squared5.com: if your .ts file has 5.1 channels and you have trouble keeping it, you will need to demux to .m2v and .ac3 first, then convert the .m2v file to mpeg-4 h.264