1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Converting File Type

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by desa-_-, Mar 29, 2005.

1. desa-_-

desa-_- Member

Hi everyone. I am new to burning DVDs but I will start to burn a LOT of DVDs very soon. Anyways, I use Nero to burn my DVDs. I have made sure I have the latest version of Nero. So, I go to Nero Start Smart, click the DVD option, then to Make DVD-Video, and then I see the Make DVD-Video screen. So, I click add files, but it wants a certain type of file. Nero asks for "DVD-Video Files (*.bup, *.ifo, *.vob). The problem is all of my movies are in *.wmv format. I tried to find a converter with man's new best friend Google.com but everything I found didn't work. If you know any converters that are simple and gets the job done, tell me :)!

Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

Thank you!

2. thugs121

thugs121 Regular member

Last edited: Mar 29, 2005
  3. Jetster

Jetster Regular member

Nero Vision Express will do it.

4. scf_au

scf_au Regular member

You must have somehow (altho' I can't figure out how) managed to click the wrong buttons. Here goes:
    At Nero StartSmart, click dvd, then 'make your own dvd video', then 'add video files'. A new window would appear for you to add the video files. And if you check the supported formats, you will find wmv but not bup, or ifo, or vob. *_*
    Yes, Nero works with wmvs. In case it says you don't have the necessary codecs, try download K-Lite Codec Pack (full or mega version) from here:

http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_Lite_Codec_Pack.htm

Good luck!

5. desa-_-

desa-_- Member

Lol guess I did. I will try both of your help advice ASAP.

Thank you!

6. desa-_-

desa-_- Member

Well, I downloaded that program and I am totally lost (these are the newbie forums :)). Also, when I oped Nero Start Smart, I go to:

DVD Tab > Favorites or Video & Photo > Make DVD-Video.