1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Converting VCR Video Tape Movies to DVD format

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by movierfun, May 10, 2007.

1. movierfun

movierfun Guest

Hello Folks
    I was wondering if you folks that know and check this site out more than myself might enlighten me on the best and easiest Video File
    Converting Software. I have some VCR tapes that I would like to convert that are not copy guarded for my own use and put them on DVD+R I have a burning program called Goya Multimedia but I do believe that I need the conversion software.As it is any tape file that I put on my Harddrive is put in as Composite.I need to know how to do the right steps I'm new at this. Mr. dummy needs help please.
    Hope you can help me out and a Big Thank You for any help you can give. Ken

2. attar

attar Senior member

You have saved the files to your hard disk?
    Can you click on them and play them?
    What is the filename extension?AVI, MPG?

If you download and run GSpot and drag one of the files on to it, you will see the type of file and be able to play it.

http://www.headbands.com/gspot/v26x/GSpot270a.zip

[​IMG]

3. movierfun

movierfun Guest

Hello and Thanks for replying yes the files are on c drive, I can play them. I believe that it is mpg (3?) type .Man oh man I just can't believe how many file types there are.

Ken

4. movierfun

movierfun Guest

Oh one more thing this Gspot program is it only a player? Ken

5. attar

attar Senior member

GSpot will only tell you the type of file you are dealing with and if codecs are required.It is not a player;it is a utility program.

I Googled your software and if it was the correct one, then it sounds like the software you have is capable of importing the video file(s) and converting/burning them to DVD.